More stops than Postkat!

Dereham, Mattishall, Colton loop

The weather forecast was fab for today so we thought that we would take advantage and get on our bikes for a medium length ride. We thought that about 20 miles would do it and had a good old look at the map and decided that out to Dereham and then follow the Tour of Britain course back to the Colton Church staggered cross roads and then towards home would do the trick for us.

The first thing that happened, before we even got out of the garden, was Kenn discovered that he had a flat on the back tyre, again. I swear that Giant tyres are made out of cheese. We are getting him new tyres asap as the Giant ones are a bit pants IMO. We also discovered a split in the tyre too, so Kenn fixed that while he was at it.

Off we went then and we spun through Barnham Broom and I was finding my legs and feeling good while Kenn was suffering a bit as he hadn’t got his second wind yet. We had planned to average around 11mph as we have a SKYride planned for tomorrow and we didn’t want to hurry at all. We got up the hill at Brandon Parva, its getting easier, it really is and turned for Yaxham. Kenn thought that his tyre felt a bit funny so we stopped and pumped it up again. I suggested that it might be a puncture but you know, us female types know nothing. We cycled a further 300 yards or so and Kenn thought that he might have a puncture so we sat for 10 minutes, in the sunshine fixing it.

Back on the road again, we were soon in Dereham and we popped into Pauls Cycles and discussed new tyres and bought a new inner tube, which we fitted there and then. Then lovely chap at Pauls loaned us the use of his track pump so we could get a decent amount of pressure in the tyre. We shall be returning very soon for new tyres for Kenn’s bike as those Giant jobbies are made out of cheese I reckon. The chap at Pauls also mentioned to Kenn that he had a tiny flat spot on the wheel. Joy, we were thinking of new wheels for Kenn anyway. We cycled from there to the library, to pop to the loo and then onwards through the town, round the streets and headed for the lights at Morrisons where we turned left and followed the Tour of Britain route along the road, over the A47 and into Mattishall.

We saw an awful lot of suicidal squirrels today, dashing out in front of us and then belting off into the bushes. There was a large assortment of bird life out there today as well. We kept seeing Quails running off up the road ahead of us and only flying at the last moment. Silly things, but they were funny. From Mattishall to Barnham Broom was pretty uneventful. We stopped for a little breather and ate a bit of apple & oat bar. Kenn drank a V energy drink. I had a sip and it was less vile than I thought it would be. Not something I am likely to make a habit out of drinking as I don’t think that its sold on its taste. Even luke warm Gatorade is better than that.

At Barnham Broom we turned left and headed up Colton Church Lane and ‘that’ hill. I am determined to own that hill by the end of the year. We got to the top of the first little rise and stopped. Kenn went to the bushes to water them, I dug out the last of the oaty apple bar and broke it in half to share with him. We munched the bar and then set off once our breathing was 100% normal and relaxed. This is a technique that has worked for me in the past getting up ‘that’ hill. Off we went and up we went. I think that I got up it better than I did last time. Kenn got half way up and then got off and walked up. I waited for him at the top

When Kenn arrived at the top he said that he thought that he had got further up than he had last time, which is always good. He also says that his derailleur was pinging on the spokes again so he got in a sensible gear for getting home with. About a mile past ‘that’ hill we had to stop again as my rear brake was binding and making a row and making pedaling difficult. Kenn had a little fettle on the roadside. A nice cyclist came past us and asked if we were OK. We said it was a bit of brake bind and that we were fine and off he cycled. So nice that he asked after us.

Home from then was pretty boring, we were both in small ring and just spinning along. I waited for Kenn a couple of times as he had picked a gear to stick in for getting home where I had my full range. A full range that I used on one nice gentle downhill where I went a bit faster than Kenn and my bike computer said that I was doing 31mph but ‘my tracks’ says that I was doing 28.05mph. Ho hum, it was fun anyway. I had to slow down and stop as there was a T junction rapidly approaching.

Both the bikes are indoors now. I need to have a little fettle of the brakes and retape my bars. Kenn needs to sort out the derailleur again. There is always something with bikes though.

SKYride tomorrow. Looking forward to it.

R

Today’s Ride:                     23.1 miles
Max Speed:                         28.05 mph
Ave Speed:                         11.21 mph

Sept Distance:                    178.09
Total Distance:                  877.34

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

