Thursday, dodging the showers

….. because we would forget our heads if they weren’t screwed on so tight.

The Plan
It was easy really. Cycle to Wymondham and have a quick appointment at the docs and then continute on our way, towards Hethersett, across to Colney, up UEA hill and on to Earlham Road, turn up a side street, walk a clients dog and then head home via ALDI for cycling goodies. Not bad as plans go.

The Reality

We definitely cycled to Wymondham, normal route up Barnham Broom Road and past the library. I love the little hill past the library as it snakes gently uphill to meet the main road. I got all the way up there in big ring. Not sure about Kenn as I had left him behind a couple of miles back as I was going to be late for the Doc’s if I didn’t get a wriggle on.

I got to the doctors, locked up the Giant and shot in to do the whole auto log in thing. I found that I was to wait until No. 15 was called and that would be my slot. The lady in the waiting room said that she was No.11 and hadn’t been called yet so I figured that I had time to dash back out and see if Kenn was there yet and give him the bike keys. He was and I did. I dashed back in to hear the nice lady Doc calling my name. After some prodding and poking she ascertained that I had Ulna Tunnel Syndrome, like Carpel Tunnel but the other tendon. I have some gel stuff and a referral to a physio. Good oh.

Back on the bikes and heading down the road towards Waitrose roundabout when Kenn said “Did you pick up Mrs DooDah’s house keys?” Nope, of course I hadn’t. I’d got a long dog’s lead but not the house keys. What an idiot. So we cycled back home to get the keys. While we were at it, I grabbed some porridge for brekky as I had forgotten this morning. Then went to Mrs DooDah’s house to walk her dog by car. En route home we spotted a wonderful source of blackberrys and are going blackberry picking tomorrow.

After walking and then helping a mate out with his slightly over fluffy husky by giving  him a good old groom, it was too late to cycle. We did get to Aldi and got spoke reflectors, some mini LED lights, which are very good for £2.99 a pack, and  some light up armbands which have flashing lights on. We figure that we can use them as dog collars and for our arms when cycling in the dark. Something the cyclists we saw on our way home could have done with. Fancy cycling up the B1108 in the gloaming with no lights or reflective clothing on. We saw them but we are always looking out for cyclists. An Isuzu Trooper jolly nearly didn’t and was close to having an accident as he suddenly swerved out to miss them. I hope that they got home alright and I also hope that they get some lights on those bikes before someone splatters them to the four winds.

I really enjoyed today’s ride, I just wish that it had been much longer. Ho hum, at least we dodged the rain today.

R

Today’s Ride:                     11.31 miles
Max Speed:                         22.96 mph
Ave Speed:                         13.92 mph

Sept Distance:                    201.2

Total Distance:                  900.45

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Separated from husband but dating a nice chap at the moment. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dog and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

