OK, who has nicked my fitness?

Got a bit lost on the way home.

My word that was hard work today.

I cycled to Dereham and back for a meeting. Very dull so I won’t go into details as I don’t want to bore anyone to death.

The route there, was my normal route to Dereham. Half way there I came across a ‘road closed ahead’ sign. I thought that surely they didn’t mean me and carried on, as the detour that was signposted would take me back on myself and I didn’t fancy it much.  I cycled along, a bit slower than I had been and nothing seemed to be untoward until I got just past a little bend where I could see that a chunk of road had been dug up. There was a stony surface where about 4″ of tarmac was missing. I got off my Giant and walked over it, then back on the bike and carried on. I was going to get off and walk past the vans and the digger but the nice men waved me through saying something like “lots of bikes coming through here today, can’t say I blame you”. I was suprised that they were friendly and polite, bearing in mind that I had just disobeyed the big signs.

As I crossed over the cross roads, I saw 3 other bikes coming towards me and a chap furtleing about for a map. I said to them that they can easily get through on bikes and to go for it, cos I had and it was fine. They thanked me and headed straight on. The rest of the trip there was pretty uneventful.
I locked my bike up at the library, changed from my stinky kit in the ladies and did a quick job that I needed to do in the library before heading off to my meeting that I was 5 minutes early for. The lady that I had the meeting with was nearly 15 minutes late as she had taken on an extra customer at short notice and he had been rude and threatening towards her so she needed an extra cup of tea to recover. She was only a petite lady and she was looking very flustered, bless her.

Meeting over I changed in the library again and then I popped to Pauls Cycles (again. I really like it in there) to look at a Giant Yukon, that they have on offer there. Now don’t all rush and buy it as I really need that bike. Or at least I think I do, I am going to have a chat with the lot on Cycle Chat and see what they all think. Once I had seen them, my Kenn rang me (he was off in Norwich looking at a bike and walking a dog and seeing our pal Mark who was working out how to get his huskys to pull a bike rig). He was off to look at a Specialized Hardrock which was on Gumtree for £150, which we thought was a total bargain.

The ride home from Dereham was a complete nightmare. I ate my protein bar before setting off – chocolate flavour, very yummy – and got on with riding home. I went our usual way home, via Mattishall but I was going in to a headwind which really slowed me down. My back was aching, probably because I had to take a rucksack with me (something smarter to wear for the meeting). I also had a really annoying knocking going on which I noticed when I was going over bumps or bits of rough road. I got off and checked the bike several times and could find nothing wrong or touching the bike in any way. Eventually I took my rucksack off so that I could inspect the bike even more closely, still nothing but when I put the rucksack back on, the tags on the zip tapped on my helmet. Problem solved, I moved the zip tags round to the left instead of being right under my helmet and carried on. I dodged the traffic through Mattishall as it was school chucking out time and carried on to head towards East Tuddenham and my turning.

I was working so hard in the wind and wondering whether Kenn had got the Specialized, whether we can afford a Giant Yukon etc etc that I totally missed my turning and the first that I knew about it is that I was struggling up a hill that I don’t usually ride up. Huge mistake as I was shattered, I seemed to have no reserves what so ever and thought that I was dying. At the top of the hill I had to stop as I thought that I was going to throw up. I haven’t felt like that since 09 when I got that BSO from Halfords. A few deep breaths and a drink of water, I carried on to a cross roads where I saw a lovely sign saying “Barnham Broom 3”. Yippee, I knew where I was in a matter of minutes and soon I was whizzing down (well maybe not whizzing as I still had a headwind) the road towards BB golf course.

As I was so knackered I forwent the turning left and struggling up ‘that’ hill but went straight on instead and struggled up the 2 small hills to the post office. Turning left there I decided that straight home and a hot bath was the way to go. I saw a lady on a nice sit up and beg type bike ahead of me and it took me nearly 1/4 mile to catch and overtake her. Hopefully she was just going a little faster than I hoped that she was. Once past her I took Spur Road and headed directly home, which was not so bad as the wind was just across me as opposed to in my face.

I am shattered, absolutely jiggered and I have no idea why as it was only 22 3/4 miles over 2 rides. I’ll try again tomorrow though.

Today’s Ride:                     22.74 miles
Max Speed:                         12.51 mph
Ave Speed:                         13.53 mph

Oct Distance:                    22.74

Total Distance:                  974.03

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Separated from husband but dating a nice chap at the moment. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dog and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to OK, who has nicked my fitness?

  1. kevinmayne says:

    Lucky you were in Norfolk – a bad day in hilly country is a bad day like no other (speaking as a Bungay exile!)

Leave a Reply

