Quick ride & the mystery of the missing bike mit

Try as I might, I could not find my left bike mit. I’ve had them a year so they are getting a bit battered but I am rather fond of them as they are just so comfy. After yesterday’s ride, I had left them on the bed and then went off to run the bath. Returning to the bedroom, I discovered that Billy the Greyhound had run off with my, rather stinky, tee shirt. Retrieving it  from him, he was trying to eat it, and sticking it back in the dirty bin, I grabbed my cycling tights and hung them out of the way (they don’t go in the main tee shirt type wash but go with other cycling stuff). It was then I noticed that there was only one purple mit. Kenn and I hunted high and low but came to the conclusion that Billy had eaten it. Heigh ho, that’s dogs for you. I figured that I would buy a new pair today.

After work today, I bobbed in to a LBS and bought new mitts, and also looked at a MTB for me (they only had horrid ones so we decided to keep looking, anyway we still have the Giant Yukon in mind). Once home Kenn got his new Specialized Hardrock out, having stuck some lights on and SPDs. I grabbed my Giant and off we went. I did notice that Kenn looked a bit big on that bike, maybe it looked a bit small under him. Not totally sure but its a 19″ frame and he is a good 5’10”, maybe 5’11” on a good day. I also noticed that my cycle leggings were really uncomfortable and I am pretty sure that I haven’t put on weight since yesterday, or not enough to affect clothing comfort at least. After a couple of miles, Kenn asked if I would like a go on his bike. Would I ever! it took my mind of my difficult clothing. He put the seat down for me and off we went. I got to grips with the gears, stopped a few hundred yards up the road and stuck the seat up another inch and then pedalled off happily up Barnham Broom hill to the post office where we swapped back.

It has dawned on us that the Spesh fits me perfectly so its Kenn who will now be looking at the Yukon, only he will be looking at the disc brake version on account of it being a 21″ frame. The Yukon that I was looking at is a V brake jobbie and after discovering the astonishing stopping power of disc brakes I am now a total convert to them.

Once home, I disrobed and discovered the issue with my clothing. There was a purple cycling mit that had velcro’d itself to the inside of my leggings and had got stuck there and I hadn’t noticed. I am still blaming the greyhound though, as I hadn’t put my mits anywhere near my cycle tights. I reckon that he moved one and then decided to try to eat that tee shirt.

Watch this space as we will probably have a new bike for Kenn by this time next week. Yay.
R

Today’s Ride:                     5.53 miles
Max Speed:                         18.49 mph
Ave Speed:                         11.23 mph

Oct Distance:                    28.27

Total Distance:                  979.56

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Separated from husband but dating a nice chap at the moment. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dog and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

