My back is killing me

As Friday was a rest day we were due to ride yesterday after work. However, I have done something to my back and I don’t know what I have done. All I know is that I am in buckets load of pain. I have painkillers which make me want to go to sleep, I have some anti-inflammatory gel for my wrist as prescribed by my doctor, which I have been using on my back as I don’t suppose the gel knows where its supposed to go. I can barely stand up straight, let alone walk and I am pretty fed up.

Yesterday, after a nightmareish day at work, one customer with 6 gorgeous dogs and one customer with one cute little Westie to groom, I thought that I was going to die of pain. Kenn suggested straight home but I said could we go via Go Outdoors as they had a good price on some Shimano MB shoes. Riding in the car doesn’t hurt and sitting down on the floor doesn’t hurt, its the being upright that causes all the pain. I could have got these shoes cheaper online, I reckon, but then I can’t try them on online. They are very comfy and I am not so fussed about them getting filthy as I am my lovely white leather Lake shoes. Once home, it was even more clear that riding was not going to happen, I couldn’t even walk our dogs, who were pretty miffed about it actually.

Today arrived and my back was hurting so much that I couldn’t get out of bed in time for church. I was zonked on painkillers until about noon before braving the rest of our home and experimenting with walking about. Kenn suggested a short ride as that doesn’t seem to cause me any pain, I agreed and thought that a quick (or gentle) ride around the block might free my back up a bit.

As it went, we rode half way to Wymondham, cut across to the Wramplingham Road and then cut across again to the Melton Road which we followed to the end, crossed the main road and along and up the hill and down the other side to Bawburgh. Once there we went back up the hill through the middle of Bawburgh and on to Marlingford and then back home on our usual back roads. We stopped every so often to pick and eat some blackberrys, in fact we didn’t hurry at all, all the way around. We just bimbled along, chatting and eating hedgerow fruit. A great Sunday afternoon ride. We were actually out for an hour and 20, although our riding time was some 10 minutes shorter than that.

Riding was lovely, my back didn’t hurt at all. I took my Giant Defy as I hadn’t ridden him for a couple of days and I don’t want him going into a decline. The riding position was lovely and seemed to stretch my back really nicely. The hardest bit was walking up the drive, pushing my bike, to the road to start riding. We didn’t push back down the drive but rode down and hopefully we won’t have punctured any tyres now we don’t have those rubbish Giant tyres on either bike. The new tyres seem a lot tougher than the old Giant ones – she says hopefully with her fingers crossed.

Once off the bike my back decided that enough was enough and I walked back indoors bend double, again. Tomorrow morning, while Kenn is collecting his new bike, I will be at the docs making an appointment to see someone. I have to work tomorrow too. One dog walk (which I might well get Kenn to do as I am not sure that I can walk for 30 minutes however slowly) and one groom.

We do plan to ride tomorrow as I am pretty sure that Kenn will want to ride his new bike. The weather, however, does not look good. It might be a very short ride.
R

Today’s Ride:                    13.37 miles
Max Speed:                         21.84 mph
Ave Speed:                         11.24 mph

Oct Distance:                    56.42

Total Distance:                  1007.71

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Separated from husband but dating a nice chap at the moment. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dog and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

