New bike day is here.

We were up early this morning, despite my poor back. I left Kenn in bed while I washed up, tidied the kitchen and made a cup of tea. Kenn got up once all this lot was done. Apparently its a bloke thing.

Just after 9am saw me on my Specialized pedelling up the drive and onwards to Wymondham, via Youngmans Road (boy did I need a MTB along there today, mud city!) and met Kenn just as he was coming out of Howards with his shiny new bike (see below).  I did notice some things that Kenn got on his brand new Giant that I didn’t get from my bike shop when I paid £600 for a new bike. Kenn got front and back reflectors, I didn’t (its something I need to sort out for the winter) and Kenn got a bell, which I didn’t. Only little things but I think that it makes a difference, certainly safety wise.

From Howards we decided on a little ride. Firstly to the Docs to make an appointment for someone to poke my poor back around then onwards to Rightup Lane, over the footbridge and along some more, finally ending up on Silfield Lane/Road whatever it is and then on back into Wymondham and to where Kenn parked the car. At the main lights, before getting to the car park, I stopped at some lights, having unclipped first. Kenn was behind me and also stopped at the lights having not unclipped. The first I knew of his unclippedness was the crash sound as he hit the deck. He did this the other week, you would think he would learn. Happily there is not a scratch on the bike, which is the main thing, he’s only had it half an hour. From the car park, I drove home in the car (Driving in bike shoes is interesting) and Kenn rode home on his new baby.

Putting Mr Spesh in the car brought to our attention a couple of things. I HAVE to have a new back tyre before he goes out again as there is a hole in the side wall and the innertube is poking through. Why it hasn’t gone bang in the last couple of rides I do not know, but I have been lucky there. I probably need a new front tyre too, looking at the state of it. I will go and try to rectify these two things ASAP. There are Specialized tyres on the bike so I reckon that they are the original ones.

Onwards to work now.
R

 

PS, riding a MTB sure slows things down, mph wise. I am not sure that I like that, however, I do spot more blackberrys.

 

Today’s Ride:                    10.67 miles
Max Speed:                         19.05 mph
Ave Speed:                         10.96 mph

Oct Distance:                    67.09

Total Distance:                  1018.38

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

