Commuting again

As it was a nice day, we decided to commute in as we only have walking dogs today, not grooming dogs. We were originally planning to ride to the docs as well but my back was hurting a lot so we went in the car. The doc said that my back was in spasm and gave me some meds to help, he asked about the painkillers that I had and he also gave me something to help with the unpleasant side effects of the analgesia.

To the ride. We headed up the B1108 past the hospital and up UEA hill and on to our first customer where we walked slowly for 30 minutes. From there we rode the .9 of a mile, up a brute of a hill an on to the next customer. I say a brute of a hill, only about a 4.9% but there were parked cars on either side, a 90 degree turn half way up and bloomin’ kids wandering everywhere. We walked for 60 minutes with this customer and got stopped by a chap who asked where I got my cycling top from. I told him about Mildenhall cycle rally and the August bank hol, he told me that his son rides for the team that my top promotes/advertises. Small world. The chap looked like a cycling type as he had ‘cycle race’ roof decals for his car.

From there we took a quick ride to Mark’s place, the pretty route. That’s down Dereham Road to the lights, hook a left to Barn Road roundabout and picked up the Marriotts Way to Sloughbottom Park and on to Mark’s that way. We had an hour sitting about and drinking tea and topping up our biscuit levels and then onward to the N&N hospital for Kenn’s appointment.

We followed Mark’s directions of along the Marriotts again to Marlpit. Up the Marlpit hill there (there is a strava segment there and I am 78th out of 80 timewise getting up it. Must pause the thing at the top as it takes stopping at the lights into consideration, which is a little unfair. Straight over the lights at Aldi and then turn right to the back road to Bowthorpe. He didn’t tell us where to turn for the cycle path so we went past it and into a cul-de-sac. We retraced our steps (or wheel tracks) and found the right path and cycled down it. We then missed the next cycle path and turned to come back for it. I got round quite safely but some numpty dashing out of Roy’s supermarket didn’t see Kenn and nearly totalled him. Kenn spent a couple of minutes suggesting that the driver might consider seeing an optician and questioned his parentage.

Onwards down the cyclepath and then we picked up the road to Colney and on to the hospital. Another strava segment which I utterly failed to do in anything like a decent time. I didn’t know any of the segments were there until I got home an looked. I will work harder next time. Locked the bikes at the hospital for an hour, got some horrible news and left.

I needed some space so I shot off and left Kenn to his own devices. I rode up the roundabouts on the B1108, over them and then turned off to the right and went down Stocks Hill to Bawburgh, back up the other side and home on the back roads through Marlingford. Once back on the B1108 after turning out of Cock Street, I caught up with Kenn who was pushing his bike up the hill. I asked him if he had a puncture, he said not so I suggested that he got on his bike again. I rode up the hill at a gentle 10mph expecting him to be on my wheel but when I turned round he was down the road. I briefly rode back and collected him and followed him up the last 100 yards or so before pushing our bikes down the gravel drive.

Not a bad ride for me, Kenn seemed to have no energy today for riding. It was a broken up sort of ride though. Maybe another ride tomorrow, I need to order some new MTB tyres too.
R

 

Today’s Ride:                    24.31 miles
Max Speed:                         26.5 mph
Ave Speed:                         12 mph

Oct Distance:                    91.4

Total Distance:                  1042.69

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

