Reepham to Aylsham & back

Nice slow ride today.

Meant to go yesterday but after 3 1/2 hours walking we decided not to ride and to leave it another day.

After work we put the bikes into the car and headed for Reepham. We were chuffed to find free parking where we put the bikes together and got pedaling.

We quickly found the bit of the Marriotts Way that we needed and cycled along avoiding dogs and their owners for the first mile or two and then we pretty much had the path to ourselves. We stopped for a few minutes to watch a fox up ahead, trotting along the path before noticing us and disappearing into some bushes. The route was pretty muddy and slippy, but that’s what mountain bikes are for. We met a couple of walkers who suggested mudguards might be the way to go, and we are sure that they are. Friday maybe, not 5pm today though.

We arrived at Aylsham, having counted down all the mile markers, and popped to tesco for something to drink and some cake. Once that was eaten and drunk, we got back on our bikes and headed back. Kenn was struggling a bit on the way home – too much cake I reckon – and the sun was directly in our eyes as it was setting. We bought new lights yesterday so we got to use them for the first time today. They are not too shoddy for a tenner each. We also had our usual array of flashers all over the bikes. While heading back, Kenn nearly headbutted a bat but missed, which was probably a good thing.

The bit between the end of the path and the car park seemed to take forever but we were soon at the car. Our moving average was way down, especially coming back as the track in the gloaming is really eerie. Maybe the Bure Valley Path next then.

R

 

Today’s Ride:                    13.7 miles
Max Speed:                        18.49 mph
Ave Speed:                         9 mph

Oct Distance:                    147.63

Total Distance:                  1098.92

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

