Bike IT! No.2 ride

Our friend Mark gave us some pamphlets with rides and walks in the Norfolk area. He’d done most of them that were practical for him to do and was passing them on to us as he thought that we would like them.

Today we planned a 10 – 12 miler but then saw that Bike IT! No.2 ride started just down the road from us we we leapt aboard our MTBs (Yes I know that it was a road route but we need the practice with the heavier bikes). It said that it was 20 miles and there were quite a few options for heading back early if it poured with rain or we got fed up as we haven’t ridden for a few days, mostly due to being lazy but a bit of working and back ache thrown in for good measure.

We set off. I decided to wear my lovely new Altura Night Vision jacket (in a very fetching orange colour, just like council workers wear 🙂 ) Its very comfy and has big pockets. I wore my lovely new Sealskinz gloves (in dayglo catsick yellow so they are really clashy)  too but they got too hot so I swapped them out for my regular cycling mits once we had properly warmed up.

We also decided to use Strava instead of My Tracks to log our ride and it didn’t wake up until nearly 3 miles in to the ride, so none to chuffed there as we have no idea how fast we actually went but have guessed it was around 10mph as we stopped to look at cows running about, a kestral on a telegraph pole and waited (dragged our bikes up a bank to a hedge) for Hooray Henrys in 4x4s to pass cos they couldn’t wait 20 yards for us to get to a passing place. Numpties.

We had to keep stopping for peeps at the map as it wasn’t as obvious as it could have been. A couple of times we could have done with road names on the map and then a couple of times we could have done with road name signs on the road but there you go. Mostly we did OK and we were glad that we were on the MTBs as the mud, cow poo, horse poo and general state of some of the roads would have scared the life out of my Defy. We only got lost the once, and that was at the UEA. We should have carried on to University Drive and followed it along but we turned onto the university bike path and then ended up walking through the campus square and carrying our bikes up a gazillion steps. MTBs are heavy. Only 28lbs or so but twice the weight of our road bikes.

From there we headed to Earlham Green Lane, took the bike path through Bowthorpe and headed home via Bawburgh, and then the back roads to home. I had a near miss with an elderly chappy with a Rhodesian Ridgeback who decided that a cyclist looked like a nice snack. Bloomin’ dog only just missed me and I was just able to swerve round. Elderly owner thought it most hilarious. The bloke had it under a bit more control by the time Kenn passed him 50 yards behind me. The ride technically started about a mile and a bit further down the road from where we live but apart from that extra bit, we did quite well following the map, as a OS map, it isn’t. The map itself, is now propped just above a radiator drying off a bit, we are warming up again with tea & toast.

R

 

Today’s Ride:                    22.48 miles
Max Speed:                        Not a clue mph
Ave Speed:                         Not a clue here either mph

Oct Distance:                    170.11

Total Distance:                  1121.4

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

