Ruff Stuff ride

Well today was the day that we had bought our MTBs for. Happily we got a lie in and the weather was bright and lovely. Once at the event it was overcast with a threat of drizzle.

We registered, popped to the loo, put the bikes together and rode off through the start. Stopped, came back collected cycling glasses from the top of the car and started again.

The first bit was great. Along marriotts way, then off the path and on the road and it was tracks and road to Blickling Hall, which I pointed to for Kenn’s benefit. Through the path there, where we helped a chap get his tyre back on,  and onto another road, where we totally missed the sign for the bridle path we were due to follow. We got to a road junction and then got directions from other riders who were doing the 40 miler. Back we went and cycled up a thin and slippy bridle path which opened up to the edge of a stubble field. Even in granny gear it was really hard work and my tyres were slipping badly. I decided, 3/4 of the way up to have a breather.

Kenn had breather too and then we carried on to the top. Getting going again was interesting as we couldn’t clip in fast enough. I rode downhill, clipped in and turned back up hill. The method worked for me. We followed roads and tracks in an increasing drizzle but we were cheered when we reached the half way point, according to my gps.

Onwards. We kept looking at the increasingly damp directions but there were no signs. Before we knew it, we were back at Reepham Station and the marshall chappy said that we were not the first to arrive back there, lost. There were about 8 of us there at that point. Apparently we should have turned some 3 miles back but some helpful people had been stealing the signs.

Kenn wasn’t feeling very happy about going back, I was even less happy. Kenn was soaked through, his waterproof had finally given up the ghost (mine was lovely though, thanks for asking) so we decided to call it a day and head back for a cuppa. We still have the route, we will work it out online and go and do it again, just to say that we have done it. It will go on the ‘ride to do’ list.

Had a bath before being baptised at church this evening. Very good job too, the bath water was about 1/4 mud!!

We have 60 miles to ride in 3 days, only 2 decent days of weather. We might not make it this month after all. The weather has not been kind to us just lately. Such is life, its only a challenge, not life or death. We have also come to the conclusion that MTBers are either ultra fit or a bit bonkers. Possibly a bit of both. I am not sure that we are up for much of this ruff stuff riding properly, but its great when we have all the time in the world and its not bloomin’ raining.

R

Today’s Ride:                    20.17 miles
Max Speed:                        19.01 mph
Ave Speed:                         9.66 mph

Oct Distance:                    190.28

Total Distance:                  1141.57

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Separated from husband but dating a nice chap at the moment. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dog and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

