Back on the bike

Hooray, I have been on my bike twice this week. The real world keeps getting in the way of cycling and its just not funny. After the Ruff Stuff event I had 12 days of non riding due to getting home from work late, rain, being unmotivated and generally being lazy and leaving it to ‘another day’. Feeling motivated again now. Kinda.

I rode on Thursday and thought that I was going to die. Around 9 miles and it was good (apart from going up the hills and through the mud). Today I took the same route but missed my turning as there was a horse in the way and I didn’t want to make it any more skittish than it already was. Girl on board looked to be having ‘fun’ with it at the junction and I was not about to add to her problems.
I took the next turning down and rode 9.86 miles in a time of 44:13 today so I was very chuffed indeed. Hoping to get out at least 3 times in the week, weather permitting. I don’t like the rain much and don’t really want to start a ride in the rain, its OK when the rain starts and I am already out, that’s different. I am nesh in the extreme.

I did have a bit of a moment today, when I thought that I was going to meet my maker. A tractor overtook me, the driver waved happily at me as it was one of the farm tractors from where we live. Sadly, I could have done with him going another 10 yards before pulling back in while over taking me. The last couple of feet of the trailer had me diving for the verge and hedge, clipped in to my Giant. V scary. On the subject of my Giant Defy. How light is it? Its amazing after riding Mr Spesh exclusively for a week or two and I love him all over again.

R

Today’s Ride:                    9.86 miles
Max Speed:                        22.96 mph
Ave Speed:                         13.38 mph

Nov Distance:                    18.84

Total Distance:                  1160.41
(Taken from 1/12/11)

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Separated from husband but dating a nice chap at the moment. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dog and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

