First night ride for a long time

Back on our MTBs today as they have the lights fitted to them and we couldn’t be bothered to change them over to the roadies. Also, as we were planning to ride along Youngmans Road, locally to us, MTBs were definitely the way to go as that road can get a tad muddy. Good choice as it turned out.

Our bike lights are from Clas Ohlson and we didn’t pay that for them. We paid £9.99 each at our local branch, so having seen that price, we are rather chuffed. The throw of light is impressive for how much we paid, its bright, we can see the side of the road on the big road and both sides on the narrow roads all without blinding oncoming traffic, so all in all we are thrilled with them. We also have little flashing LED lights front and rear which were about 3 quid from Lidl plus our big back lights on a static beam. Just to be on the safe side, we had our night vision bike jackets on and our flashing arm and leg bands. We looked like Christmas Trees but we could be seen from a long way off. At one point, Kenn was about 1/4 mile behind me and, as I stopped to wait, I could see him very clearly, even more so when an oncoming vehicle lit him up and the hi-viz reflective was seriously bright.

We took one of our regular routes, down to Carlton Foehoe and then off towards Wymondham but nipped left across Youngmans Road – v muddy – and then home via Wramplingham. Being on MTBs we knew we were not going to be averaging more than 10mph and this proved to be true. It was Kenn’s first ride for 2 weeks and 2 days so steady was the order of the day, or night even.

We noticed that the cars gave us more room at night than they do in the day. Very odd. It might just be because Brad Wiggins got knocked off last week so cyclists are at the forefront of people’s minds but it was still very good to be given such a wide berth.

We are now planning on a lot more night riding as we are feeling more confident with it.

R

Today’s Ride:                    7.69 miles
Max Speed:                        22.93 mph
Ave Speed:                         9.64 mph

Nov Distance:                    26.53

Total Distance:                  1168.1
(Taken from 1/12/11)

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

