Commuting – of sorts

Today, as it was nice, we decided to commute to our dog walking customers by our bikes. We took the MTBs as we knew that we would be coming home in the dark and we couldn’t be bothered to change our lights about. Lazy, but true.

The ride in was uneventful, we rode straight up the B1108 to Norwich and Kenn went off up College Road to go to a clients house, while I went into the city centre to get to another clients house. The plan was that we walked the 2 clients’ dogs and then met up at a 3rd clients a bit later. That all worked very well, I finished last so Kenn cycled to No. 3 client while I finished walking the 2 dogs that I was with and then cycled up Marriotts Way, dog legged to the lesser used path and met up with Kenn on Waterworks Road. We walked then for an hour with a lovely Cavalier King Charles Spaniel and then, once the dog was home and watered, we cycled down Dereham Road and to Go Outdoors for a protein bar each and a water top up for our bottles. From there we popped to our Mark’s flat for a cuppa and a rest before heading home our new favorite route.

There is no mystery to the new favorite route. Its simply along the Marriotts to Marlpit Lane, up the hill, straight over the lights – where my chain got caught between two rings and locked up solid. My fingers were not strong enough to sort out the problem so I waited 2 whole traffic light changes for Kenn to catch up. He really dislikes Marlpit Lane, its a bit uppy for his liking. Plus there were police cars and ambulances going up the Dereham Road across red lights which negated a whole turn of the lights Kenn’s way. Kenn had my chain sorted in an heartbeat and we carried on up Larkman Lane, right at the top and through the cycleways of Bowthorpe, up past Bowthorpe Church and onto Chapel break road, up the hill and a well deserved breather at the top where we turn left on the back road to Bawburgh.

By this time it was pitch black and we were lit up like Christmas tree’s again, which didn’t stop some Berk in a Merc from forcing his way past us. 5 seconds later we passed a passing point, but Merc fanboy couldn’t bear to be held up by a couple of mere bikes. Pillock. A reg plate spelling his name out too. Double Pillock. A quick zip down the hill, under the bridge and up the other side and we were soon at the Kings Head pub and onwards towards the hill and the Marlinford Road. At the top we stopped a chatted with a cyclist coming the other way while we all got our breaths back. From there it was home via the back road until Barford Cock Lane and the usual dash up the B road to home.

Interestingly, cars all seem to be giving us a wide berth. I hope its the lights and not the fact that Brad Wiggins was knocked off bringing cycle safety to the tv screens again. I hope its because we have sensible drivers who respect the right of the cyclist to use the roads and not because we are in the spotlight. We shall see how long the ‘giving us some room’ thing lasts anyway.

Not planning a ride until Sunday now. We’ve seen the weather forecast.
R

Today’s Ride:                    24.17 miles
Max Speed:                        17.9 mph
Ave Speed:                         10 mph

Nov Distance:                   50.7

Total Distance:                  1192.27
(Taken from 1/12/11)

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

