Sunday afternoon ride

We had planned to ride the ‘bike it’ route 2 again only we forgot the map. Kenn pointed out that we had forgotten the key to get in our home too, so he would have to break in (again) to retrieve the map and the house key and it was getting on in the day. We decided to wing it and see how we got on.

Actually we didn’t do too badly and got all the way round the the Hethel turning before omitting to go straight on and turning off and then looping back, somehow,  towards Wymondham. We did about the same mileage but a different route. We were keen to redo this route to see the time difference in riding a roadie and not the MTBs. Never mind, we’ll have to try it another day with the map. Over the last 6 miles, we were both regretting cycle shorts rather than our longs. Our longs are so thick and not brilliantly comfy either. Mine make my knees feel funny. We need cycling tights. I’ll look into some this week. Over the last few miles it felt like my legs were enveloped in a cushion of coldness. Really odd feeling. My shins and knees were more cold than they have been for a long while. Warm now though. Kenn has an ‘ice cream’ headache from breathing in the cold air. Its not normally a problem, I think its because we were just generally cold.

Other great ‘forgets’ today were: Kenn’s big gloves so he had cold hands all the way round. My buff, so I had a cold neck all the way around and we both forgot that warmer socks might have been a plan. By the time we were just heading down to Wramplingham, my hands were cooling off in my cycle mitts but, as we were only a couple of miles from home, we decided to push on and just deal with the cold later. Hmmm, not such a good plan. I have no feeling in either of my thumbs and none of my fingertips still and we have been home 90 minutes. Note to self: put your bloomin’ gloves on sooner rather than later.

We are planning to commute into work tomorrow if the BBC weather forecast site is not telling porkies.

R

Today’s Ride:                    19.99 miles
Max Speed:                        27.4 mph
Ave Speed:                         12.35 mph

Nov Distance:                   69.96

Total Distance:                  1212.26
(Taken from 1/12/11)

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Separated from husband but dating a nice chap at the moment. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dog and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

