2 for the price of 1

What with the weather and us being a touch nesh, cycling has not been happening. Work and weather got in the way until yesterday morning, when it dawned bright and sunny. 10 minutes later it rained but then the sun came out again so I took my chance.

I got dressed into cycling kit, grabbed a swig of tea and got out on my bike. Just the short version of the Barnham Broom loop, there wasn’t time to add the extra bit down to Barford and back up the Watton Road as I had to get to work, busy day ahead. All in all, it wasn’t too bad. Not as hideous as I’d feared anyway. I spent most of the time in little ring as my fat little legs have had no cycling for 10 days or so. I felt brilliant though.

I covered 5.72 miles in half an hour on my roadie. I wanted to take the MTB due to the dodgy weather but I can’t get to it as we have had a wood delivery and we needed to get some into the dry. I’ll dog out the MTB at the weekend.

Today, I got the chance to ride again. The weather was great and although I couldn’t ride before work, I knew that I had over an hour at lunch time between customers. Again I took the roadie but this time took the route to Tuttles Lane and back via Wramplingham and home. A little further and a bit faster too. 8.69 miles in 40 mins and a few seconds and averaged well over 11mph so well pleased. I even managed to spend some time on the big ring so not as namby pamby as yesterday.

Once home we dashed back out again, with me looking like a beetroot but changed into work clothes, only to find that the customer that we drove 14 miles to visit has had a family illness take them out of the county so they weren’t there. They had emailed, as it turned out but they sent the email to an old account that had been hacked and which I have been trying to sort out for days. Happily I got it sorted this evening and there was their email from yesterday morning, just as they said it was. I’ve booked them in for next week. Had I known, I could have stayed out for another half an hour or so. Heigh ho, such is life.

No riding tomorrow as I have 6 dogs to groom, in one house but I might get a quick ride in on Sunday after Church. Kenn will be coming too, with luck as he has been ‘off’ riding after having surgery on his arm. He’s allowed to ride this weekend and he’s looking forward to it.

R

 

Recent Rides:                    14.41 miles
Max Speed:                        21.81mph

Ave Speed:                         11.49 mph

Nov Distance:                   84.37 (shameful)

Total Distance:                  1226.67
(Taken from 1/12/11)

Tomorrow is a new cycling year for us. For the next 12 months we plan to ride way more than the pitiful 1226 miles. Shockingly tiny amount of riding, that’s about 3.3 miles a day 😮

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

