First ride of the year!

We are just back from a 10.4 mile ride, which took 66 minutes. Totally appalling but Kenn is not the fastest cyclist in the world and we were on our mountain bikes due to the muddy state of the local roads. The thought of taking my road bike through muddy puddles gives me a case of the vapours.  Never going to happen. I might be unreasonably fond of my Giant Defy. The MTB is a bit tougher, I love it to bits but I don’t mind it getting muddy. After all, its it’s job to get muddy.

Today I weighed myself and had a minor panic attack in the bathroom. Once I had stopped hyperventilating I dug out my cycle shoes and poked Kenn out of his chair. I am shocked to the core as somehow 10lbs have arrived and I haven’t noticed. It must be all those buns to keep out the cold! It needs to go asap. My cycle leggings have shrunk in the cupboard too. We really need to get out on our bikes and do some bloomin’ work. Christmas is so last year!

We rode up our drive and onto the main road. We spent a mile going along the main road and then turned to the left towards a village called Carleton Forehoe. At the turning I waited the 30 seconds or so for Kenn to catch up. We then cycled along past the farm houses and on towards Wymondham, passing Kimberley Hall – where I took the opportunity to ride a couple of circles so that Kenn could catch up. Then along to a road called Youngmans Road, which is always muddy and right to the end where we turned Right to get to Melton Road.

I like riding along Melton Road, there are always other cyclists, horse riders, walkers etc plus there is never much mud. We carried on along there until we got to Pockthorpe Road and we turned down there and continued to the end where we cross the main road that we live on (only home is some 2 – 3 miles up the road a while). Once across we cycle down the lovely hill which takes us to Marlingford Mill. Sometimes we stop and look at the river but it was too cold today and my feet were getting numb. Here we turn for Barford village and I pedaled, quite quickly up the hill and then waited a while for Kenn when I reached the top and found  a safe place to stop.

From there it was an easy ride to the back road home, we passed the 2 touring caravan sites and the table where we can buy free range eggs from (no eggs today), the school and then we turn back to the main road and cycle the last 1/2 mile up it. At the top of the slope there, I waited for Ken. Somewhere between the horrible bend and the top I had gained a whole minute on him, which is a bit shocking. We then cycled the last 1/4 mile down the drive together.

My phone app says 10.4 miles and that I had 6 minutes of stationary time. Kenn says its because he has lost more fitness than I have. Not sure how that is as we have both been cycling at the same time except for once. We climbed a huge 654 feet in total during the ride and managed not to stop on a hill even once (a result as far as I am concerned).

First ride of the year done then. Bring on the rest of the year.
Seriously considering the Norwich 50 in May-time. I would like to have a crack at the 100 mile ride but I shall have to see how the fitness picks up. Kenn is only interested in the 50 though.

R

Todays ride    : 10.4

Max speed      : 21.25

Ave speed      : 9.38

Elevation       : 654 feet

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

