Alone in the dark

After a bit of an odd day where it was raining the whole time so we took the Christmas decs down, organised DVDs and tried to get in contact with a health supplement company that have taken £112.50 out of my account after I cancelled with them (they now seem to have vanished without a trace). I wasn’t sure that I was going to get a ride in. I did wonder about a run, having treated myself (early wedding anniversary pressie) to a pair of lovely New Balance 851s. Actually Kenn bought them for me and I am going to get him a new Android phone. His pressie will be twice as much so he’s getting a good deal here.

However, at 7pm this evening, the weather cleared so I grabbed my leggings, cycle shoes, lid and lights and got on my Specialized Hardrock, there was no way I was taking the Defy out on our roads in this weather. I didn’t plan a big ride, the Carleton Forehoe plus the Barnham Broom loop saw me riding just over 5 3/4 miles with increasing drizzle. Kenn didn’t want to go and he was tea monitor anyway (once home I put the spag bit of the spag bol on the hob). I had a brilliant time and was nearly 1.5mph faster out on my own.

I like riding alone, its just me and the road. The road doesn’t ring me up and ask stupid questions, it doesn’t interrupt me when I’m riding, it doesn’t judge me for being overweight, older than I ever thought that I’d get to or for the fact that my hair colour comes out of a bottle. The road just is. It takes me places that I know, it lets me explore places geographically and psychologically and I really like it. Its been a good friend to me over the last 30 plus years, has the road.

I got covered in mud, I have decent lights on my bike but even so the roads were filthy beyond belief. I chose to live in a rural area so I don’t suppose that I can complain but my Altura Night Vision jacket took me 10 minutes to wipe down and its still muddy. I’ll shower it off in a min.

Oh, one bit of note. I had a strange encounter with a car driver. While approaching Barnham Broom and wanting to turn right at the upcoming T junction, the car driver held back to see which way I indicated. When I indicated right, he/she stayed back and waited for me to make my turn before overtaking me with shed loads of room on a safe bit of the road. Normally along that bit, its all boy racers making me dash for cover in the bushes. Lovely car driver tonight, a real treat. Thank you, whoever you are.

Jogging tomorrow.

R

 

Todays ride    : 5.76

Max speed      : 16.22

Ave speed      : 10.8

Elevation       : 286 feet

Total miles    : 16.16

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

