Geo-cycling again Sunday 6/1

Poco ball chasing in the summer 2012

Poco ball chasing in the summer 2012

Today’s blog should have been written yesterday but we were cold and damp after being out on our bikes in the afternoon that neither of us wanted to stay in the kitchen to blog. Not when there is a woodburner in the living room and we could be there instead. The kitchen does warm up wonderfully, it just takes longer and I wanted to be warmer, faster.

Yesterday we took our Mountain Bikes out again for geocaching. We also took Kenn’s little Jack Russell out with us. She is called Poco because she is just a little ‘bit’ of a dog. A wee thing with a big personality. We went with our friend Mark and his 2 Husky dogs. Mark takes his lads ‘bike joring’ which is like husky sledding but with a bicycle to tow instead of a sled. We don’t quite get the snowy weather for sledding and Mark cannot afford one of those joring scooter things either.

Anyway off we went. 1st Cache 3/4 mile out so we got a good run up at it. Cache soon found and we were away again, .1 mile and then we stopped. Poco was having a wonderful time running along on a long lead trying to pull a bike (Kenn pedalled, he didn’t let his wee girl actually try to pull him along. He’s not horrible). Poco is a puller on her lead so she thought that this was wonderful.
Not so much bank slithering up and down today. We had one tree climb to do but our Mark went and got it as he had sensible trainers on and not bike shoes as we did. All in all we found 15 caches and then turned around for the 3 3/4 mile ride back home.

When we turned, we noticed that the sky was a bit darker than we had anticipated, we had stayed out a bit long and we were drastically running out of light. I only had little flashers on my bike and my flashing armbands. I gave Kenn the rear, red flasher as he was at the back and kept the white, front flasher and my bands. We thought that we had better get a move on before it got properly dark and we couldn’t see our way down the trail. Happily, it had been a very cloudy and slightly misty day so the dusk seemed to last longer with the pale colour of the sky.

Poco was still pulling and those Huskys thought that they were in heaven pulling Mark on his bike. Neither Ken nor I quite dare to have a go on the bike end, we just cycle along and give the lads something to chase. Poco was chasing the Huskys and was as happy as a pig in clover. We got up to 13.8mph at one point, according to my gps. That is not too shoddy for a little Jack Russell. We think her fast spurt was when she saw another Jack coming towards her. Kenn hung grimly on to her lead and hauled her past as we really didn’t need her starting a scrap right then. She is very good at picking a fight, is Poco.

We didn’t make it home by dark, we had a good 5 minutes of pitch black but we were on a lit bit of the journey by then so it was not too bad. We did 7.5 miles altogether and had a really good time. Our moving time was 90 minutes but we were out for a good hour longer, which is the searching and signing bit. As I have said before, little movements don’t register on the gps.

We now only have the middle section of the Marriotts Way caches to find, from Taverham to Drayton, plus the caches actually in Drayton and then we have found all Mark’s caches for the event. This is apart from one or two which have gone missing!

My knee aches today so we might not be cycling today. I shall have to see how the day goes. My mileage is low this month so far but its better than December already. We are looking towards the Norwich 100 in June so we do need to get our pedals turning a bit.

R

Todays ride    : 7.5

Max speed      : 13.8

Ave speed      : 5.1 (this did include the slow walking bits of which there were many)

Elevation       : Didn’t look and took different gps

Total miles    : 29.43

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Separated from husband but dating a nice chap at the moment. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dog and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

