First ride since Jan 6th :-o

Oh my word, I remember being fit. I do, honest. Since the 6th Jan I haven’t been near either of my bikes due to one or two wee things happening in my life. Firstly, I don’t want to ride in the snow and we got a fair bit of it and the roads were a nightmare, where we live, for a fortnight. Once the snow had gone on the main roads, our roads were still slushy and horrible. Then I decided that it was too cold to ride with an aching back from where I fell over in the bloomin’ snow and ice while walking a client’s dog. The dog was fine BTW. This was followed by a dose of the Flu. I have never had flu before and never want it again. Next year I will get a flu jab and not make a fuss about needles, which is why I don’t normally have a flu jab even though the doc says that I should. I was out of action for a fortnight with flu and then I got tonsilitis, joy and rapture abounded in our home.

I meant to get out on Thursday just gone as Kenn was at dialysis but by the time I had walked the dogs, lit the fire and found my bike lights, it was pitch black and the temperature had dropped a good 3 degrees and it was bitter out. I didn’t get home from work yesterday in a very good time but today I got home at a reasonable time and was able to change and get out of the door.

Taking Mr Spesh the MTB was the plan but the roads were clean-ish and we’ve had close to freezing weather so I figured that there wouldn’t be too much mud about so I took the Giant Defy instead. I had forgotten just how much I love my Giant. I had a bit of a false start as the GPS on my phone took forever to wake itself up and then it told me that I had ridden a mere 4.27 miles which I know is wrong as I rode the Carelton Forehoe to Wymondham, along Tuttles lane and home via Wramplingham route which is a smidge over 8.25 miles and I doubt that it has got shorter since I last rode it last year. I was also very pleased that my long cycling bottoms were not tight, I thought that they might be a struggle to get into but they were quite roomy. Must be the weight that I lost having the flu.

Getting up that massive 4% slope to Tuttles Lane nearly killed me and I was in granny gear. Tuttles Lane not too bad and turning down the Wramplingham turning was not too shoddy but the couple of slight rises on the road really took it out of me, even though I took my iPod and had a Newsboys album playing away in one ear which kept me going. Getting back up the B1108 to home was horrible. I got half way up and felt sick. I was in the gear next to granny gear and just kept spinning as I could see the pylon in our field even though I couldn’t see the track head for turning down for home. I just kept looking at the pylon, kept spinning and wished that it would get closer, faster. I rode down the drive, which is a bit naughty on a road bike but it was so bloomin’ cold my nose had gone numb and my feet were starting to hurt with the cold.

Now I am in the warm and sat at my PC, it didn’t seem so bad and I would like to get out on my MTB tomorrow, with Kenn for a few miles. Maybe the Themelthorpe Loop again, as its a nice ride and not too long. We can get a cuppa on that ride too, which has to be a good thing.
R

Todays ride    : 8.28

Max speed      : 20.13

Ave speed      : 11.75

Elevation       : 338.92 feet

Total miles    : 37.71

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

