Moved house and have only just got interweb sorted.

We have been out on our bikes, really we have. Not much admittedly but we have been out. Trying to move house without taking work time off is interesting, to say the least. We officially moved in on the 13th May but didn’t get around to fetching the bikes until the 15th May and squashed them up, wheels off, in the new shed which is not very big, especially in comparison with our 12′ x 12′ stable at the last place.

We did get a quick ride in on May 8th, before we moved. We rode the ‘Pockthorpe Loop‘ ride and for some unknown reason, I took Mr Spesh out. I don’t remember this ride at all so it must have been pretty uneventful especially as its a route that I generally take the Giant out on. We must have just belted round when we had a chance. Its its usual 9.39 miles so nothing to get excited about really, I am still stunned that I took the Spesh and not the Giant but ‘mycyclinglog’ doesn’t lie.

Our first ride after moving was brilliant. It was on Sunday 26th May, the sun was shining and we managed to stop unpacking, sorting out and whatnot and get out on our road bikes. We rode down Park Road in Wymondham, turned left which brought us out on to Silfield Road and dog legged across it to some other road that brought us out at Wreningham. I was gazing at the church and thinking how pretty it looked so totally missed the left hand turning so we pushed on to the main road – B1113 – and went left on it and cycled along until we got to Wymondham Road which is nice and bendy and goes past Lotus and on over the A11 and into the Wymondham Industrial Estate. That road is slightly up hill all the way and we were noticing this by the end of it. From there a quick dash through the industrial estate, down the hill past the railway station, over the mini roundabout and home. We both felt good and quite pleased with the 10.04 miles in just shy of 50 minutes. Our neighbour was mightily impressed and thought that we would be out all afternoon. Bless her.

We also managed to get out for a fabby ride on BH Monday, the 27th. We decided to follow “Bike It” route 2 which starts (or at least for us it does) some 4 miles away from us so we cycled down Harts Farm Road and onto Norwich Road until we passed Ketts Oak.  We took the next right and followed the Bike It route around to Eaton, where we stopped at Waitrose and claimed our freebie cups of coffee for the day as we have ‘my waitrose’ cards. Once we had drunk our lovely coffee’s and turned strong mindedly away from the delicious looking cakes we were then back on our bikes and back on the route. Once we hit Marlingford we left the route and carried on up to Barford and to our old home to collect post and then rode home via Barnham Broom Road, through the town centre, stopping for an ice cream and then on to home. 27.75 miles but the last 5 miles from our old place to our new home was very hard work. Getting up the slight hill on the Barnham Broom road was horrible, I felt sick and wobbly, turns out Kenn did too and we wondered if we should have gone for cake at Waitrose after all hence settling for an ice cream from the Co-op in the town centre.

After the Bank Hol, real life and work got in the way – gloom. I took my bike in to Mandarin Cycles for a gear service on the Giant and to sort out the mystery clicking noise that is driving me mental. Turns out I need a new bottom bracket as a bearing has definitely gone. Nick at the shop sorted it and said that my Giant is safe to ride and a new bottom bracket has been ordered.

Clicky bottom bracket not withstanding, we got out on our bikes on Friday 31st May after work and cycled from our new home to our old home and back as we wanted to collect post and some money that one of our neighbours owed us. We didn’t get the money but we did repossess the woodburner as the money for it was not forthcoming. We went back the next day in the car, in case you are wondering, we didn’t haul it back on our crossbars. A bit of a dull old ride really, on roads we know really well when we really want to get out and explore a lot. 13.86 miles and a bit of a dash back as we were running out of daylight and neither of us had decent lights on, only little flashers. The bottom bracket makes more noise that it used to so we decided not to do the Norwich 25 (so not fit enough for the 50 mile and definitely not for the 100) on the 1st. I am far to embarrassed about the racket its making to take it on an event and I am certainly not taking the Spesh!

This all finally brings us to Sunday 2nd when we went of exploring again. We followed the Silfield Road to Ashwellthorpe and onwards to the end, crossed straight over the big road and twiddled around some country lanes looking at fields of rape, various green leafy crops that are not quite big enough to see what they are, ponies and some sheep. We ended up near Bracon Ash and turned vaguely homewards there. Kenn said that his legs ached, which is a laugh as I have been struggling to keep up with him for the last 4 rides as he has suddenly decided to pick a cadence and stick to it. I’ve only been on at him for 2 years about it and now he does it and I can’t keep up. Having said that, I am not trying too hard as the bottom bracket is clicking away but it sounded better after this ride. After Bracon Ash we crossed the B1113 again and headed for East Carleton and then back to Wymondham, as we didn’t want to go up the road past Lotus as there were cars dashing up and down it and we didn’t fancy being flattened by some numpty out for a Sunday jaunt around those gorgeous bends. The ride was 13.15 miles and it was great fun.

Now I am all caught up, I am off out on my bike by myself. There is a cycle path that I saw on our way home on the last ride that needs exploring so I am going to do it tonight while Kenn is on dialysis.

 

The rides    : 74.19

Max speed      : 29.48

Ave speed      : —

Total miles    : 170.13

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

