Out without Kenn on a lovely sunny evening

Kenn is at dialysis having his blood all cleaned up while he languishes on the transplant list for another kidney. He’s 49 now and the kidney that I gave him only lasted 5 years. I am devastated that it has now failed, Kenn seems to be taking it all in his stride. However, he has realised the necessity to get and stay fit, to keep his weight at a sensible level ready for when a kidney becomes available. Obviously I can’t give him a kidney again, his sisters discussed it last time he needed one but I have no idea of the outcome of their discussions as they didn’t share it with us. I guess it was a ‘no’ though, so we are not holding our breath this time.

While Kenn is in hospital, I took the opportunity to get out on my bike. I had finished work and home at 4pm so took the dogs out for a nice 3/4 hour walk round the woods and fields, had a cup of tea and then got changed and went. I could see little doggy faces looking at me over the baby gate as I went downstairs to the front door but I am very hard hearted and went anyway.

Last time out I noticed a cyclepath to Wreningham so I went backwards around Sunday’s route until I found it. Its not massively long but it once was a proper road so not a dirt track, which is nice. It brought me out on the Hethel Road (Actually called Wymondham Road but it goes past Lotus) and I misjudged where the abouts on the road I was so I headed left and along to the B1113. Had I gone right for 50 yards or so, I could have gone on the nice country road to Wreningham but instead I had a quick spin up the main B road and turned up Church Lane/Road/Somethingorother and went that way instead. From there I retraced my tyre tracks from Sunday 26th only backwards.

It was a lovely evening, lots of bikes out and about, kids with parents, couples, a couple of chaps on road bikes out training and an elderly man on a rather lovely trike. It was only marred by one of my customers ringing me up to book a dog grooming appointment. I was listening to music – in one ear only – via my phone so the call interrupted The Newsboys. Never mind, she is a lovely customer with a fab dog and she rang back later, once I was home when I told her that I was out on a bike ride. Happily she is a sensible lady who doesn’t expect me to have my diary about my person. Its actually on my phone but I don’t broadcast that to my clients.

Home now, dogs fed and walked (again), I have fended off charity people looking for me to set up a DD with them. I support Kidney Research UK,  I gave away a kidney and I have a sponsor child in Togo. I feel that I have done my bit. Also these chaps were talking about a charity that I have never heard of, they were not going to take ‘no’ for an answer. I had to close the door on them in the end. I felt bad but I am not being harangued about not being charitable enough at my own front door.

Hopefully I will get to ride home from Norwich tomorrow, my bottom bracket is being fitted so I thought that I would ride home. Not sure of a route yet but I am sure that I will work something out.

R

The rides    : 11.81

Max speed      : 19.61

Ave speed      : 13.07

Total miles    : 181.94

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

