Commuting? Kind of.

Today the plan was to commute to work and back again. Nice and straight forward really, until a lady rang and asked us to clip her dog’s nails. Well, she was only in Long Stratton, so we said ‘yes’ and we arrived at her place at around 10am, clipped her dogs nails and then got back on our bikes.

Seeing we were in Long Stratton, we popped into the housing association offices as we had a query, and had a rather lovely cup of coffee while we were there, then back on the bikes and went on the back roads to Norwich. We didn’t fancy the direct route, the A140 with its lorries thundering by on a National Speed Limit road, so the pretty route was chosen.

We cycled through Hempnall, Saxlingham Nethergate, Stoke Holy Cross and passed Venta Icenorum at Caistor St Edmunds. Once upon a time I played Boudica in a historical TV programme called something like Killer Queens. It was years back and I never did see it on TV but am reliably informed that it was shown quite a few times. The route was quite hilly and rolling in a relentless sort of way. It was all Kenn’s idea, I told him so, repeatedly. Actually we both need to ride a hilly route now and again, its so easy to get great rides on flatish routes. I have this Cycletta ride to think about and I have a feeling its going to be uppy-downy.

Anyway, from there down to Lakenham and up and up and up to the city. Long John Hill is not so bad but it goes on and on. It becomes City Road, not that it stops it going up some more. From there we zipped through the city centre and braved Castle Meadow. It’s a ride that permits buses, taxis and cycles. Riding through there, we felt like Lilliputions as we rode round huge buses. It was quite surreal really.

From there it was a quick spin to Jasper’s house to get him walked for half an hour.

We didn’t stop there. We rode from Jasper’s house to Zaks Mousehold restaurant where we had lunch. Kenn had a lovely looking burger and I wished that I had gone for one too. I had Mac & Cheese, only the macaroni was penne pasta, the cheese was gopping and it was bland, bland, bland. I did mention this to the waitress when we paid and she kindly gave us some money off the bill. I don’t normally complain but I can make a way better Mac & Cheese.

After lunch, back to Jasper’s for his second walk and then we decided not to ride home. Those rolling hills had taken their toll on our legs. Also, my old Lidl cycling shorts had finally given up the ghost. The Chamois has gone all flat and they are not so comfy any longer. However, for £6.99 they have done sterling work since buying them in Scotland,  July 2011 so they are nearly 2. Not bad for bargain shorts. I would certainly buy another pair should they come up again in the shops. We rode from Jasper’s house, back towards Zaks – getting fed up the that road already – then down Gurney Road to Barrack Street roundabout. Gurney Road, I should mention, went up before it went down, it nearly finished us off. Once on the downhill bit, it was great, we got around the roundabout, up Riverside Road and to Thorpe Station, which is the main railway station for Norwich. Wonderful building, click the link and have a look see for yourself. Here we paid £3.60 each for a train ride to Wymondham Station, which is not quite so stunning but it does service the town we live in.

Interestingly, we didn’t have to pay to take the bikes on. There were no issues with us traveling with bikes, we thought that there might be as we have heard from other cyclists about problems they have had traveling with bikes on the trains. Maybe we have a sensible rail line.

Once off the train, we cycled the mile or so home. We were both very glad to see our front door. Off for a nice hot bath now. Shattered.

Next commute in is planned for Friday, not via Long Stratton though. Straight in, walk dogs, straight out again. Promise. We do have rides planned before that though.

R

The ride    :31.2

Max speed      : 29.74

Ave speed      : 10.06

Total miles    : 253.64

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Separated from husband but dating a nice chap at the moment. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dog and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

