Wednesday Bimble

I had a lovely evening off yesterday, where I dug a bit of garden and did a bit of weeding instead of cycling. My legs were tired and aching anyway. Today my Hardrock went into Halfords for a service. I know, bit of a risk but it was free as I got it on the O2 Priority app thing. They seem to have done a nice job on it anyway. I will take it round the block tomorrow and see how it feels. If its not right, I have lost nothing.

I was seriously ready to ride tonight, whatever the weather. We have been expecting rain as its been muggy all day. There has been a few spots but a downpour didn’t arrive. I am sure that it will be along at any minute though. I was kind of hoping to ride in the rain as well. Heigh ho.

I rode the Wreningham Cyclepath Variation ride again. 12.33 miles which starts with a gorgeous downhill to the mini roundabout, where I lost all my momentum when  car decided that bikes on roundabouts do not have priority so just drove at me. I have checked who has priority with Kenn and he says that Wymondham is not France so I had priority and not the middle aged idiot in a BMW. Is it true that BMW stands for ‘Bloody Minded W****r’? if not, it should be. Getting up Rightup Lane was blooming hard work having had to stop dead at the bottom of the hill and in the middle of the mini roundabout.

Once up, I finally got my legs spinning again and rode down into Wreningham where I overtook two young men on brand spanking new road bikes. So shiny shiny it crossed my mind that my Giant could do with a clean. I said ‘hello’ as I passed them and carried on. A wee while later the huffed up and re-overtook me, saying something about if I overtake again that they would punch me. They said something about my parents not being married (they definitely were, with half of Burke’s Peerage in the pews to witness it some 5 years before I was born), and one of them suddenly realised that I was a woman and called me the C word. Dander most definitely up – I have had a rough few days and feel decidedly in a non-crap taking mood I offered them a race & shot off. I got up to 23 mph, I could see it on my phone app. I dashed round a few bends and then turned off down Hethel Road, followed by a large coach and I didn’t see them again. I am wondering if the countrywide interest in cycling, after Brad’s wonderful TDF win, his Olympic gold and the other gold medals won in the velodrome in the Olympics is such a good thing when aggressive oiks get road bikes and get really upset when someone over-takes them. It could only have been worse for them had I been a nun on a nice old sit-up-and-beg style of bike. Poor loves, being scalped by a 49 year old, 2 stone overweight woman. Diddums.

In case you are wondering. I used to be a battle re-enactor and am quite useful when I have to be. I am a Scaly-brat (forces kid) and can fight exceedingly dirty when I have to. My Dad saw to that. Also there were only 2 of them.

The coach followed me to Wymondham Road (The wiggly road from Wymondham, past Lotus to the B1113) and turned left. I turned right and over to the cycle-path. I really like that cycle-path. No sign of oiks on roadies. I think that they had given up. Once off the cycle-path and on my way home I saw an older chap on a roadie and then no other cyclists. I think the overcast weather was putting people off or they were all going in the same direction as I was. This time I saw Spinks Lane in good time so rode down there to the railway line, where I stood by my bike at the gate, waiting to cross for a good 2 minutes. The crossing light was red so I stayed put until it went green. I don’t fancy being run over by a train.

From there it was an easy run home, along the rest of Spinks Lane, round the roundabout and along the edge of the link road between Wymondham and the A11, along the cycle-path that runs along side Harts Farm Road and down the hill, round the mini-roundabout (no BMW this time) and up the hill to home. The last 3/4 mile was very hard work. I had hoped that I was going to average 14mph tonight but it was not to be. Another night then. My legs felt very wobbly when I got in so I had a massive cookie, carbs and sugar. That cup of tea went down well too.

Kenn should be riding tomorrow night so it’ll be a bit slower.

R

 

The ride    :12.33

Max speed      : 23.49

Ave speed      : 13.35

Total miles    : 265.97

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

