2 for the price of 1 today – again

I didn’t get out for a ride on Thursday or Friday on account of friends over for a meal and Friday was more gardening while we had the chance as Saturday’s weather forecast was not so nice. I was determined to ride Saturday though and I did. Not, as I thought, with Kenn as he was away to dialysis by the time I got out, but alone with my iPod, naturally.

I didn’t fancy the usual route and decided to have a bit of a change of scenery so I went straight down Silfield Road to the end, along the B1113, past Wreningham and the main Wymondham Road and went along Cranes Lane again and eventually came out on St Thomas Road and took the usual route home until the 2nd roundabout where I went straight on to see where it went. It comes out just before Norwich Road, by the museum. From there straight home along Silfield Road. As I was riding down Station Road, I came across a 12 year old lad on a very nice BMX who was going my way. I did pile down the hill, around the roundabout and up the other side, leaving said 12 year old in my wake as I was not being beaten up the hill by a plump schoolboy on a BMX, however nice it was. Also, we see him and his mates fairly regularly around and I couldn’t live with the shame.

Anyway, 11.88 miles at an average of 13.81 with 5 x 30 second intervals as hard as I could fairly evenly spaced along the ride.

Today was much more fun. We got on the bikes at 10am and headed for Church, which was closed due to a burst pipe at the School hall where we meet. We stopped and chatted with the Pastor for a few mins before heading out to Dereham with a plan for a cup of tea at Morrisons. On the way we met up with a nice chap on a 3 speed Peugeot, with panniers and he was carrying a Hurdy Gurdy on his back in a carrier. Neither Kenn nor I were quite feeling the love at that moment, so it was nice to have the company and someone new to chat with up the back road – up hill – to Barnham Broom and then up the big hill towards Mattishall. It was at the top of the hill we parted, us up Candlestick and the nice man away to a close village.

From there it was an easy run to Dereham, Morrisons was full to bursting so we retraced our tyre-treads until we reached the Mustard Pot pub where we had to extortionate small cups of coffee and I made Kenn eat a packet of crisps and a mars bar as he was a bit wibbly and his shoulders hurt. From there a 9 mile run home on the B1135 which is not bad riding on a Sunday, nice and quiet.

Getting up that hill past Kimberley, after the railway bridge was interesting. I got half way up and looked behind me and there was no sign of Kenn so I sat on the grass bank and waited for him. I soon saw him coming in to view, walking and pushing his bike. He had a couple of minutes once he reached me and then I shepherded him up the rest of the hill and then I headed home as we were expecting someone to visit. Friends beat me home but I was inside of my estimated 20 minutes so no complaints from them.

I would have preferred to ride without the stops and starts but 30.28 miles averaging 11.9. Might have been a tad faster if I had paused my app every time I stopped to wait. The cycletta is in 2 weeks and I feel ready for it, so its all good.

My bike is currently in the bath, wheels off, being cleaned with my beloved Muck-off. I am just waiting for the rinse water to finish draining it before I give it a bit of a polish. Then we shall do the same with Kenn’s bike. This week I plan a new cassette for the Giant, the front rings are fine, no hooking although I might have to get a new chain. I know I should get the lot but as Kenn has my cassette on his bike and the cycletta isn’t totally flat I need a big cog of 24 teeth instead of the 22 that I have now.

Tomorrow then.

 

The rides    :42.16

Max speed      : 23.49

Ave speed      : 13.35

Total miles    : 308.13

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

