5am ride in the sunshine

I woke up at 4.25am and felt all refreshed and awake. I got up and poddled about the flat for a while then thought ‘I know, I’ll go for a ride’. As you do. I sneaked back into the bedroom and picked up my shoes, bib-shorts, long sleeved cycling top and socks and then dressed in the living room. The dogs looked at me as if I was totally bonkers but they didn’t agitate to go out themselves, they just settled back down on their sofas and went back to sleep.

I decided to ride the Wreningham Cycle path route (short) again: I needed to turn my legs after yesterday’s 30 miler and decided to stay in little ring all the way around and avoid going in big ring at all. Also, Kenn was sound asleep which means that I can go my pace, nice and steady without having to catch up or wait for anyone.

I got half way around the green outside our home when I noticed that it was a tad chilly. Once on Park Lane I cycled with my hands tucked into my armpits for a hundred yards or so as I warmed up. Once I had turned into Verdons I had hit a nice cadence and was just spinning along. I managed to keep this cadence, pretty much all the way around, changing up or down when necessary to keep aforementioned cadence. I didn’t see another vehicle until I crossed the Wymondham Road and turned into Potash Lane and was heading for Lotus. A Fiat 500, its owner off to work. Then I saw a chap on his hybrid bike, also heading to Lotus. I said ‘good morning’ to him but it seemed not to be a good morning for him as he scowled at me.

As I approached the cycle path I saw another cyclist, a cheery one this time and another cyclist at the other end – the thin bit. 2 cyclists on the thin bit makes for a traffic jam but he was very cheerful too and we said ‘good morning’ to each other as we squeezed past. From then it was an easy run home. I saw one more cyclist, another grumpy one and no more cars. I did have to dodge several rabbits, one hare and a brace of pheasants though. I was suprised not to see any horses. When I had horses, I was generally out at 5.30am for a morning ride before work on the quiet roads and I have seen horses on that route a fair few times in the evenings. Maybe their owners are pressed for time in the mornings.

I do believe that the hill from the railway bridge to Park Lane is getting easier as I get used to it, in fact even the slope up Park Lane was easy this morning. I sometimes find it a bit of a haul up there as I am tired and its caught me out a couple of times. Once outside my home again and turning off my map my ride app, I was astonished to see that I had taken a few seconds over 47 minutes to do the route. My record is 45.53 so I was only a minute & a quarter off my best time. I didn’t mean to ride that fast, I had about an hour in mind so not sure what happened there. I can only think that I must be getting fitter, if not lighter.

There is an outside chance of a short evening ride, if Kenn wants to go out for 5 or 6 miles later but if not I have ride planned for tomorrow evening while Kenn is dialysing.

The ride    :11.09

Ave speed      : 14.1

Total miles    : 319.22

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

