Thursday evening ride to the hospital

Panic not, nothing has dropped off. Kenn was at dialysis tonight and I finally got in from work, walking the dogs etc at around 8pm and was not really feeling like cycling. Having had Tuesday off as I was totally shattered – fell asleep on the sofa half way through CSI and yesterday evening was spent gardening, sorting out the boarding for the loft and finally getting a few things up there. The Christmas box and Christmas tree is no longer taking up room in the hall. Our winter clothes are away in a suitcase and in the loft too. Now there is room under the bed for Poco, Kenn’s wee Jack Russell, to sleep. She is very much an ‘under the bed’ dog. By the time we had sorted things out it was 9.30pm and I couldn’t find the bike lights.

This evening, when a customer rang for an appointment, I mentioned the Cycletta event to him which spurred me into action, changing and getting on my bike. I sent Kenn a text to ask how long he had to go and told him that I was heading his way. It took me a while to get changed as I couldn’t find my cycling top (I found it once home, under my pajama bottoms) so I pinched Kenn’s lime green jobby. Its a vile colour but it was the best that Go Outdoors had for under £20, its also a tad too big for me. It kept my bum warm, it jolly nearly kept my knees warm actually.

I really did want to get out tonight, despite my initial lazy feelings of staying in, as I have a new cassette on my bike. It has 25 teeth on the biggest cog, rather than 22 on my usual cassette. I don’t know if Bedfordshire is hilly at all so I thought that I’d stick a different cassette on, just in case.

I was very naughty at the roadworks lights on Silfield Road and dived down the inside so as not to stop at the red light. A bike is not big enough to trip the sensor and I would have been there for hours until a car came along. Also, I was not sure if they were working. They were red at both ends last night from about 6pm onwards. Lots of narked drivers, I should imagine. I had planned to whip through the edge of town and along Norwich Road to Waitrose and then on to the road to Hethersett but I had a near clipless moment at the lights which addled my brains. Happily I didn’t fall off and make a complete tit of myself but it was a close run thing. Feeling a bit discombobulated I turned right, as if I was in the car, instead of going straight on.

Harts Farm Road is not so bad, I got half way down and then crossed the road and picked up the cycle path which I followed to Waitrose and then round the roundabout to the road to Hethersett, past Ketts Oak and all the way down to Thickthorn roundabout. There is a cyclepath around it so I used that. I didn’t fancy mixing it with the artics and bonkers drivers who seem to think that they have to race around it at 80mph. Once round the roundabout, I got on the short cyclepath to the next roundabout where I turned left and headed along to the Norfolk & Norwich Hospital. There are a series of little roundabouts between the big roundabout and the hospital and I was feeling wonderful as I spun along there. That new cassette is great. Also, my bike is all clean and shiney so it feels faster.

As I shot round the final roundabout, I could see Kenn in the layby up ahead, sat in my car waiting for me. As soon as I stopped, I grabbed my phone and stopped the ride app and was very chuffed to see that I had ridden 8.33 miles in 33 minutes and had averaged 15.1mph which is a first for me. I cannot wait to ride tomorrow now. Kenn’s bike is going in for a service so we won’t ride in. I might though and get a lift home in the car unless the sun is shining and then I might ride home. The weather forecast does not look hopeful though.

The ride    :8.33

Ave speed      : 15.1

Total miles    : 327.55

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

