Last proper ride before the Cycletta on Sunday

Thursday 27th June

I only had one dog to groom today, so Kenn went off and did all the ‘dog walking’ customers while I went in the opposite direction to groom a wee Yorkie. Great dog and lovely customer. 90 minutes after arriving, I was done and dusted and heading for home. The plan was to crack on with my accounts, which have got a bit behind, and to get last years accounts in a readable state for my online self assessment. Horribly dull but necessary. I had a ride ready in my head too. I decided to start the accounts and go for a ride as a reward, then ensuing I get on with the job in hand.

I started work at around 11am and the work went on and on and on. My wrist was aching from the writing in my Accounts book and I was fed up. I decided that when I got to the End of December 2012 that I could go riding. It was  a nice day and it was being wasted but me being in the office. December arrived and was sorted promptly so I got into my shorts and cycling top, grabbed my Lake road shoes, new gloves and went out on the bike.

Naturally, as it had been a lovely day while I was stuck in the office, it decided to rain the second I rolled out of our road, undeterred I decided that it was the end of June and not February so a coat was not required. I headed off in the direction of Wattlefield again and rode half of the route that I rode on Tuesday but I didn’t head off to the hospital. Its a nice little route, very flat with only a couple of short uphills and mostly gentle downhills when riding in a clockwise direction. My hill profile told me that, so I think that next week I will try it anti-clockwise to see how that goes, obviously its the same climbing but long slow climbs instead of the short climbs. It will be interesting to see if my time around is vaguely the same.

The Wattlefield and Spooner Row roads are very quiet, no owl or stoats today though. Less in the way of baby rabbits too. Maybe they only come out for evening cyclists. I kept a nice cadence and mostly in little ring as I didn’t want to strain anything. The new gloves feel odd after my old ones with the flat padding but I noticed no numbness today, so they must be doing the job. The bar tape felt nice and it was nice to have a bike computer again. I was surprised to see, that when I was going up the hill to home, that I was traveling at just over 13mph up that. I thought back to the days of struggling up Dolly Hill at 6mph 2 years ago on that horrible old Apollo. These modern road bikes are wonderful, I’m a bit fitter and stronger too, but Dolly Hill seems a very long time ago.

Cycling in the rain was lovely. It was a light soft summer rain, refreshing rather than drenching. When I got in, I was a tad damp but not overly wet. I do need new sunglasses though, I have noticed how scratched mine are, also I have mislaid the light orange and smokey lenses. I only have the dark lenses for really bright days. I can get some Muddy Fox sunnies from Argos, of all places. £14.99, or so the chaps on CycleChat tell me. They look ok and are probably better than my old ones from Lidl, which have done sterling service for well over a year now.

Off to work for me now. Friday is my rest day before a gentle spin round the lanes for 4 or 5 miles tomorrow. Better crack on then.

R

The rides    :8.15

Ave speed      : 14.7

Total miles    : 375.53

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Separated from husband but dating a nice chap at the moment. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dog and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

