3 quick July rides

After our 46 mile epic the other day, we had a day off as work was just mad. By the time I had got home, cooked tea, fed and walked the dogs and done a bit of gardening, I decided to stay in and watch the Tour highlights and Casualty instead.

Sunday was a better day and Kenn & I rode the short Wattlefield route. It was a nice evening, much cooler than the day had been, hence waiting for the evening. Our day had been busy. It was our last walk with Jasper-pup as his Mum & Dad are moving to Essex the next day. We don’ normally work a Sunday but, as it was our last opportunity to spend time with wee Jasper we said that we would. We had been to Aldi to get a bike work stand, a bike carrier and a bike tool kit too. Our own dogs had been walked twice and it was all good.

The Wattlefield short route is just 8.22 miles around and was completed with an average speed of 13.14 so not blisteringly fast. Too blooming hot for one thing. There was no owl, no stoats or anything on the route. In fact we didn’t see another soul until we got back to the end of our road. A nice ride but wholly uneventful.

The next day – Monday 8th – was the day that Kenn’s Giant Revel was in at Howards for its 100 mile service (or more like 250 as it happened). We love Howards. A great LBS where they are always helpful and friendly. Kenn is eying up a nice Felt Carbon bike there, but he will have to save harder before getting that wee baby.
Kenn rode his Giant to Howards while I rode my Specialized Hardrock to Barford Hire to collect the van that was taking us to South Yorkshire to collect a king sized bed from Kenn’s sisters place. Boy oh boy was that hard work. I rode through the edge of town, down Norwich Road, Tuttles Lane and onto Melton Road and cut down through Wramplingham bringing me out 150 yards from Barford Hire. I chose the Spesh as he was going in the back of the van to Yorkshire and back and I didn’t want to bang the Giant about. That Spesh MTB is way tougher. 6.63 miles in 32 minutes and I was knackered. Kenn got the easier end of the bargain there. with his quick 2 miles in to the LBS.

Driving to Yorkshire was OK, I was a bit suprised when I got there not to get offered a cup of tea but we were straight onto loading the bed, then a cup of tea and then half way through it came the “I suppose you had better get going then”. We were in S Yorks for nearly 40 minutes before I got to drive all the way home again. Its the last time I am going, let me tell you.

Tuesday the 9th was a simple Home to Hospital run, the usual 8.26 miles in 32:35, so a bit faster on the Defy that on that Hardrock. I am still adoring the new saddle.

A ride on the Marriotts way with the MTBs is planned for the 12th and a ride from Gt Yarmouth to home is planned for the 14th. Watch this space, it might rain yet!

R

The rides    :23.11

Ave speed      : 12.75

Top Speed:   26.17

Total miles    : 486.58

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

