Lunch at Wroxham. July 5th

Having had 3 days off riding, I felt a whole lot better about life in general and decided that the 45 miler on the 14th might be a goer after all. I had no grooming today and Kenn suggested riding in to Norwich to walk little Jasper-pup for his morning 30 minutes then to go off for lunch somewhere and then walk Jasper for his 2nd 30 minutes on the way home. This seemed like a plan.

My Giant was armed with his new saddle, a Specialized BG Riva, bought from Pilches for the sum of £25. I can’t be worse that that prolink. Actually its much more comfy and I love it.

We rode from home, towards the N&N hospital, my usual route that way but didn’t go along to the actual hospital but carried on straight on the cycle path/road alongside the A11 then up and over the bridge and into Eaton where we picked up the Bluebell Road cycle path to the Avenues and into the city. From there down Grapes hill, along the inner ring road and up to Jasper’s house on Massingham Road. Its a short, sharp hill up there. My phone app says that its about 3% but it lies! Kenn’s Matiz has stuggled on that hill in the past. Once the pup was walked, we decided to go to the Kings Head in Wroxham for lunch.

The Wroxham Road is horrible to ride along. It was ok when I was a kid but its way busier now. What ever was I thinking! Artics all over the place and lads in hot hatches blasting past but we made it through Wroxham and over the bridge into Hoveton safe and sound. We had the carvery at the Kings Head as there was a 90 minute wait on everything else. The carvery was OK but not brilliant. The place had run out of knives and forks so my dinner was getting cooler by the second as they went and found some eating irons for me. Heigh ho. Maybe give the KH a swerve in future.

We decided not to go back the way that we had come so, once back on our bikes, headed for Coltishall and passed the Kings Head and the Rising Sun, where we should have gone in the first place and will next time. From there we carried on down the North Walsham Road with a view to cutting through Spixworth and back through Catton to Jasper’s house. This didn’t occur in the end as I couldn’t face that hill in Spix. Down is fine, up is horrible. We carried straight on and cut up the cycle path at Church Lane and on to the Wroxham Road about 100 yards from the ring road roundabout. We went right at the roundabout and left at the next and down Constitution Hill to Jasper’s house where we walked for 30 minutes and stretched our legs out a bit.

Now we were on the home straight, so to speak. We left Jaspers, shot down Massingham Road hanging on to our brakes for grim death and turned left and cut through to Aylsham Road via the quiet back roads. From Aylsham Road we got on to the Marriotts Way and cycled up until we got to Marlpit Lane and up the hill to the lights. We got all the way up. Kenn was most impressed with himself. Then we headed our usual way through the Bowthorpe cycle paths to the bridge at Bawburgh where we sat for a min and made decisions.

Should we go straight on and up the hill and then the back roads to Marlingford, Barford and then home up the Barnham Broom Road, or even the Melton Road. The other way was up Stocks Hill – a road we have been down a lot but never up, and then  home the direct route (ish) via Little Melton  all the way up to Tuttles Lane and then through the town and home. Stocks Hill won. Its a hill that goes up in 3 distinct stages with a false flats between them. It wasn’t too bad. We stopped just before the third rise, for a minutes breather and a drink and then got on with the last 100 yards to the B1108.  Very chuffed to get up that. Fitness must be improving.

The ride home from there was nice, reasonably well paced and uneventful. We were glad to see our street, not so glad to see that had I not passed our house, I would have ridden 44.2 miles. I am not having that so I rode around the block and stopped the bike computer at 46.08 which is much better.

Once in and over a coffee, we entered the Thetford Challenge. Not on the 14th it seems but the 21st July. The 14th was the closing date for online entry. Its paid for now, a done deal.

A great ride, really fun and we have another longish ride planned for the 14th now.

The ride    :46.08

Ave speed      : 12.75

Top Speed:   26.17

Total miles    : 463.47

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

