Friday and Saturday rides

Tuesday to Thursday was baking and we were absolutely shattered all week so did a bit of gardening but stayed off the bikes. Work wasn’t hectic but it didn’t leave a space for riding in the day and in the evening, buy the time I had taken Kenn to dialysis, walked and fed the dogs, tidied up and done the washing up, cooked tea etc, I couldn’t be bothered and Kenn is not one to say ‘come on, lets ride’.

Friday was our day off. Neither of us can remember our last Friday off (we have another this week) so we hopped on the roadies and went around the Wreningham Cyclepath route. We tried to do the short one but the road is closed so we did the extra half a mile or so and very much enjoyed it. We just kept spinning along, not in much of a hurry – it was too hot – averaging 12.8 mph average over the 11.89 miles round.

Saturday, the day before the Thetford Challenge, was a super short ride to spin our legs rather than get anything done. We rode to Howards Cycles for some bar tape for Kenn, promised them some cake and asked them if they could get one of these:

eddy-merckx-emx1-veloce-se-2012-road-bike

How gorgeous is that? I was really set on saving for a Boardman Team Carbon bike but then I saw one of these Merckx EMX-1 Veloce SE road bikes and was totally smitten. Howards think that they can get me one, so that’s ok then. Hence the promise of cake. I will take them cake once a week if they can get one of these at a sensible price.

The whole ride, Howards and back was 3.13 miles at 13mph average. As I said, just a leg turner and a bit of shopping.

Kenn fitted the new bar tape once home and also managed to cut the cable to his bike computer, right at the place where the cable joins the mount. He was not wearing his specs and swore quite a lot. Heigh ho. We will get a new one for him this week.

The rides    :15.02

Ave speed      : 13

Top Speed:   22.8

Total Climb: 100 ish feet

Total miles    : 593.24

Advertisements

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s