2 rides today!

I didn’t mean to ride twice today. I meant to ride once, from home to the City and get a lift back with Kenn before he toddles off to dialysis. As we were running late due to a trip to Halfords, a cup of tea to think about stuff and then another trip to flippin’ Halfords to pay for a new bike for Kenn, we were late.

Kenn had to go to the hospital this morning to have some heart monitor fitted for 24 hours – back tomorrow to give it back……….. What, not interested in the hospital trip and want to know about the bike? Don’t blame you. Hospital waiting rooms very dull.

He bought this:

Kenn's new baby

Kenn’s new baby

 

Kenn had a bit of a windfall, financially, and as Halfords had 10% off a few bikes, it came in at the right price of £900 instead of £999.99.

 

When we looked at lunch time the green 10% off sticker was on the spec sheet of the bike. We chatted with a lad called Ben, who hoiked it down so Kenn could have a proper look see and sit on it (no test rides available). He said that the 10% off was finishing at close of business today. We asked if we could put a deposit on it and pay the rest tomorrow and have the bike at the reduced cost. Ben said that was fine. We told him that we were off for a cup of tea and a chat before comitting. He said that it was fine and that there was a 55.5cm bike in stock so we didn’t have to go with the showroom job or wait while its ordered (48 hours apparently). We did have a cup of tea and made a list of pros and cons. Lots of pros, only one con; the fact that it comes from Halfords.

We went back, having checked the bank balance, just to make sure, and we could see Ben dealing with someone else so waited politely. Another halfords chappy arrived and said the the 10% off ended on Sunday. We told him that Ben said that we could have the 10% off today as the green sticker was still on the bike only an hour ago. He had a quick chat with Ben who OK’d the 10% off and we paid before chappy could change his mind. We collect it tomorrow. Kenn is praying that the forks will be on the right way round, they will have put the brake blocks in. Whatever they do we can sort it out. If we can’t our beloved Howards cycles can.

Anyway. The ride.

I rode from home towards the N&N but didn’t turn off at the roundabout to the hospital but went straight on, on the road/cyclepath along side the A11, up and over the bridge with the A11 below and into Eaton. At the lights I went left along Bluebell Road cyclepath and then into the city via the Avenues and Unthank Road, cutting through the houses there and coming out behind the vets. Over the road and into the lovely Chapelfield Gardens where I found Kenn.

Then we did the whole halfords thing blah blah blah, and then went to exercise a Labradoodle and then Kenn took me to Colney Lane – the Hethersett end –  where I got on the bike and cycled back home.

Tomorrow we are off for a 30 miler apparently. No shit!! Why am I not suprised. Kenn said that he is feeling so motivated that he might even write his own flippin’ blog. I will believe that when I see him typing after he has asked me for the password & user id.

Oh, I am having the Tiagra shifters from Kenn’s carerra and his is putting my Sora shifters on it. Result. My Giant will have Tiagras on, one way or another.

R

 

The rides    :16.9

Ave speed      : 14.5

Top Speed:   24.7 mph

Total Climb: 216.54 feet

Total miles    : 657.86

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2 rides today!

  1. peteplowman says:

    lovin your blog….must start detailing my daily trips….however mundane. and for the record….my bike came from Halfords and they have looked after me since with no problems

    • 2nkenn says:

      To be fair, the Norwich lot don’t seem too bad. I had a few bad experiences living in the Midlands. Forks on backwards etc.
      I live in hope, the young mechanic they have at the moment seems very clued up.

Leave a Reply

