Updating a bunch of rides. Lazy me!

After the 10 miler the other Saturday we had a day off, Kenn has had quite a few days off. Not that I am resenting that sexy carbon bike gathering dust in my living room, unridden for over a week while my Carbon bike savings have stalled as Kenn’s car went bang and I needed to replace it with my bike savings, no not dischuffed with him at all. Not fed up having had to dust his bloody bike either. I am wondering whether, if I wash it hot, it will shrink to a 53cm and then I can have it.

Monday 29th I decided that sitting on my arse and getting fatter was not going to get me any fitter so I fired up my iPod with a load of Manic Street Preachers tracks and got out on my bike and I had a blast. I rode the Wreningham Loop and enjoyed every single second of it. I listened to my iPod in my left ear only, I could hear my wheels on the tarmac and I could definitely hear the other traffic, not that there was much. 11 miles as usual in 45:05 so a new course record so I was even more chuffed. I’ll take the Manics out for a spin again

Tuesday 30th saw me out on my bike again, alone again. I rode the Wattlefield loop anti-clock with a twist. I didn’t turn left at the little roundabout but carried on until Suton Road and then went down there, to the A11 roundabouts and then headed into Spooner Row and to the PH from the Station  on rather than approaching on Chapel Road. Great ride, I loved it and will definitely explore more of that ride. 11.94 in just shy of 53 minutes so a good average speed of 13.6mph so pretty happy with that. It was longer as I didn’t want to go home again so I rode up Silfield Street and came home via Rightup Lane and then did another lap of Park Lane. Great fun.

Work then got a bit bonkers so I had a few days off and threw a leg over my bike again on Saturday 3rd August and just made it up as I went along. I followed the first half of the Wattlefield variation loop but when I approached Spooner Row PH I didn’t got straight over but headed right along Bunwell Road and detoured up Mill Road and back on to Bunwell Road. From there I followed the road to The Turnpike (B1108) until The Jolly Farmers PH and then hooked a left and followed the road back towards Spooners Row and then turned off to Ashwellthorpe and home along the Silfield Road. The last couple of miles were done quite quickly as I had forgotten my lights and lost track of time so I needed to get a boogie on to beat the light. The last 3 miles were very much sub 4s, sub 3:30s actually. Fab ride, I shall do this again, possibly the next time that I can get Kenn to ride his bike so not holding my breath. 16.17 miles in 1:07:00 so averaging 14.5mph so chuffed.

Last night it was howling down with rain and I have no excuse for Sunday except for I fell asleep on the sofa.

Tonight I wasn’t planning on a ride as I was shattered at work. A good job that I wasn’t grooming or I might have chopped some poor dogs paw off. It was all I could do to walk for a couple of hours then take my own out for a walk. Once home I uploaded Postcards From a Young Man, a CD that arrived today to complete the back catalogue of the Manic’s CDS and then suddenly decided to get on my bike. I changed and got riding, took the iPod again and I had a brilliant ride.

I rode the Wattlefield route in reverse but with the Suton Lane variation. I wanted to get home to watch something at 8pm and I nearly made it. TV is not that important anyway. I had a blast out on the road. Aided by the Manics, again, I did OK. 9.08 miles in 37:11 so pretty darn pleased with that. The last mile was quick again but its downhill so it ought to be.

I plan the 16 miler again tomorrow, if I can get Kenn out of the door, otherwise I shall do it on my own again.

R

The rides    :48.19

Ave speed      : 14 ish

Top Speed:   22.5

Total Climb: —

Total miles    : 779.47

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

