Exploring 2 new rides plus one other.

I am easily bored, as anyone who knows me will tell you. They will also tell you that I love the Manic Street Preachers, Thunder & David Bowie but that is by the by. I thought that I would check out a new route after successfully trying a different route the other night with Kenn.So I decided to kind of start off on the new Morley St Botolph route but instead of turning right at that crossing, to go left instead and up past Wymondham College, this was last Tuesday BTW, the 13th Aug. Once past the college I found myself on London Road and went around the roundabout, along London Road a bit more, hooked a right and round the 2 roundabouts that take me to Spooner Row.

At Spooner Row, I was feeling great and decided not to go home just yet as I felt that there was more exploring to do. I turned right at the crossroads and then left once out of the village, left again on Wymondham Road and then left once more and back towards Wattlefield, I had basically added a mile and a half or so extra to the Wattlefield loop but it was a nice extra, pretty roads and I could watch the Combine Harvesters at work and try not to choke on the associated wheat dust.

From Wattlefield I followed the usual route to the Silfield Road and travelled towards home for 100 yards or so and then turned off up Long Lane, another road that I have been meaning to ride along for a bit. I know where Long Lane comes out – on Silfield Street – and enjoyed the twistiness of the road and the slight downwardness of it. There is a really tight left hander that nearly caught me out but I managed to get around it without the Giant spitting me off and into a ditch. Out onto Silfield Street, turning right to the ‘no through road’ sign where I turned left. I was so chuffed going along there. I over took a young fit bloke out exercising. OK so he was jogging and I was on a light road bike but that’s not the point. I actually overtook someone younger than myself. Its not cheating!

I was so made up with myself that I totally fluffed the cycle gate at the road/cycle bridge over the A11 and had to put my foot down. Blooming hard work getting going again but I got over the bridge and down Rightup Lane. I got 3/4 of the way down and it was like my batteries had drained. I suddenly felt knackered and out of breath. What the heck? It was gently downhill but I knew that I had to get up the wee hill on Silfield Road to get home and it suddenly seemed really daunting. I had an idea. I dug out the iPod, popped my headphones in and found Masses for the Classes.

I figured that this would get me up the hill. I got spinning and bombed down the hill, braked for the wee roundabout at the bottom, nothing coming so kicked on and piled up the hill breaking 20mph going up as I did it. That track lasted all the way home and ended just as I rode through my gate. Impressed. As I was nearing home, I saw a whole bunch of cyclists coming the other way, Hethersett Velo apparently. I waved and smiled, as did their lead rider.

I was miffed to find 13.93 on the bike computer, had I known that I’d have ridden round the ring. Just shy of an hour so rather pleased.

Wednesday 14th was the same route but with Kenn. The only difference being that I didn’t have the Manics to get me up the hill and I was left gasping in Kenn’s wake (Can’t ride hills my arse) and I went back via Park Lane as it put that precious extra on making the mileage 14.07 in an hour and 48 seconds. Slower with Kenn, or it might have been that hill.

Today I fancied a short ride to turn my legs and I had noticed this road that I hadn’t ridden down before as I passed by last night. I headed out towards Wattlefield and didn’t turn, as usual, to Spooner Row but carried on for a couple of hundred yards and turned left up Broom Road (Wattlefield) and followed the road which took me to Ashwellthorpe where I headed directly home as I had sudden pain just above my left knee. Its got a packet of frozen peas on it as I type. A nice little 7.51 miles in 30:53 according to Endomondo.

Oh! Forgot! I entered the Cycletta New Forest today. I booked a Travelodge for the night before too. I am not driving down there at stupid AM and then riding 50 miles thank you very much. Its on the 13th October so I shall start praying for nice weather for that weekend in Hampshire.

The rides    : 35.51

Ave speed      : 14 ish

Top Speed:   24.5

Total Climb: —

Total miles    : 839.7

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

