2 rides today and they were brilliant

Yup, out again. Kenn was at dialysis again. We are praying for healing but it seems a bit churlish as when a kidney does arrive it will mean that someone will have died and had been carrying a donor card. The chances of any of Kenn’s family offering to get tested as a live donor as slim to non-existant. Lets face it, they didn’t last time and even before I gave the kidney they treated me like I was a bit of dog-dirt on the bottom of their shoes. Since saving his life – cos that is pretty much what I did coughing up my left kidney for the man that I love, they have been even worse. I just adore being referred to as ‘her’ or ‘she’, its just charming. I am a Christian so I do try to bless and release, forgive and forget but they really really try my patience, which is why I spend so much time on my bike.

On my first ride, I took my iPod with me to take my mind off this and that. I had had a few words with Kenn about the whole family situation and suggested that it might be nice if he grew a backbone and actually stood up to them for a change instead of ‘yes Tina, no Tina’ or ‘yes Dad I am fine and I am not worrying at all about carking it before I get a kidney as I ain’t getting any younger’ He doesn’t want to worry them but I think that he should worry them. They are all living in their selfish little bubble thinking that dialysis is a walk in the park and a nice jolly little thing where he bleeds and has his blood filtered for 5 hours 3 times a week and then comes home and throws up for an hour or so until he staggers off to bed, knackered. They have talked about getting tested and helping their brother but none of them have bothered to get tested. They just talk and tease.

The new Manic Street Preachers CD arrived today. I pre-ordered Rewind the Film and its awesome. I listened to it on my ride and loved every second of it. I had already played it in the car when we popped to the city earlier today. I don’t think that Kenn was wildly impressed as he has only listened to the newer stuff and this is acoustic and much more introspective than the normal rockier stuff. It has to be said that the title track is not wonderful at getting me up hills at all, awesome as it is. I bobbed the iPod on to Revol to get me home, as you do. I rode around the Wattlefield loop the original way, clockwise, and it was just fantastic. I could feel my legs really working well and my newly trued wheels were just brilliant. 8.21 miles in 33:23 so not too bad and averaging 14.9. So near but yet so far.

I was so chuffed with the earlier ride that at 9pm ish, I went off and met Kenn from dialysis. Just the usual route. I had all my lights on and a hi-viz band on my ankle for a bit extra. I couldn’t find my flashing bands, I think that they must be in my bike box in the bedroom. I didn’t want to go in there as I had cycle shoes on and we have floorboards in the bedroom so clunking over the top of our neighbour’s bedroom is probably not good for neighbourly relations. I got on the cyclepath as soon as I could on Harts Farm Road and then rode on the cyclepath along Norwich Road until the roadworks where it ran out. I then felt that I was running the gauntlet on the road until I got to the top of Colney Lane where the cyclepath reappears. That path appears just as the streetlights run out so it was pitchy pitch black down there but my lights are pretty good so I wasn’t too worried.

Before I knew it, I was at the A47 crossing and there was very little traffic so I was able to get across very quickly and that last bit through the Roundwell estate to the hospital just flew. There was Kenn waiting at the layby, as usual and he had only been there 2 minutes so I had timed it pretty well.  So just 8.33 miles in 33.05 so not my fastest ride there but its not like it matters. I had a great ride and I could have quite happily cycled home again, but didn’t as I have some chutney to pot up.

The rides    : 16.54

Ave speed      : 15.2

Top Speed:   27.7

Total Climb: –120

Total miles    : 1087.35

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Separated from husband but dating a nice chap at the moment. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dog and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

