Butternut squash soup

ImageThis is a great recipe, it couldn’t be easier to make such a tasty low fat soup. In fact, I am reliably informed that,  this soup is ‘free’ on Slimming World and Weight Watchers. A bowl of this after a bike ride on a cold day or when you get in from work and need something fast and warming is just ideal. It even freezes so you can make a big batch and freeze half of it for another day.

Ingredients:

  • Butternut Squash
  • Large Onion (I like red ones best)
  • Large Red Pepper (Green or Yellow works too)
  • 2 pints of vegetable or chicken stock (I use Knorr stock cubes)
  1. Peel and de-seed your squash
  2. Cut squash into cubes
  3. De-seed and roughly chop your pepper
  4. Peel and cut up your onion
  5. Put all ingredients into a large pan that contains 2 pints of vegetable stock
  6. Bring to the boil on your hob and then simmer for 20 minutes or until squash is soft.
  7. When cooked, use a hand blender to zizz it until smooth – or your desired chunkiness. I like mine smooth
  8. Serve.

Sometimes I add a spoonful of curry powder at the start of cooking to make curried Butternut squash. I often add some black pepper when serving too. Its the simplest recipe in the world and I love it. Its a great soup and fills you up and is delicious. I have been using this recipe for about 8 years now and have never had it fail on me.

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Separated from husband but dating a nice chap at the moment. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dog and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

