Nice 30 miler tonight, in the afternoon/evening sun.

I didn’t go out until about 5:40 as it was a rather warm day.
I decided to not pick a route but to just make something up as I went along using the ever faithful “oooh, that looks pretty down there” method of route finding.
I headed off towards Wattlefield and then turned for Spooner Row and went straight on at the Boars and headed for Wymondham College school. From there I headed back towards Wymondham on the B1172, the old London Road but soon turned left towards Morley St Botolph & Wicklewood.
There was a horrible hill there, it went upwards! If it had been going downwards it wouldn’t have been horrible at all. I had a van behind me but as there were no passing places, I kept on riding. I was not about to climb up a small bank covered in stinging nettles for anyone. He parped his horn a couple of times but as I had nowhere to go there was not much that I could do. I went into a passing place as soon as one appeared and he roared past me.

I then headed down Green Lane to Kimberley, and out on to the B1108 Watton Road and headed right along there and then got off that road as soon as I could. I skirted Coston and then headed to Barnham Broom and then back over the B1108 and to Carleton Forehoe. I’ve not been down there for ages, probably a year. I turned left on the Barnham Broom Road and headed back to Wymondham but then hooked left onto Youngmans Lane and onto Wramplingham Road and finally onto the Melton Road where I went left towards Melton but turned off for Hethersett and from there headed towards home.

At the Ayton Road roundabout I decided that I needed to do another 4 miles so headed off towards Hethel but turned right long before the Lotus factory and went over the railway bridge and whipped through Silfield before heading home.
Tonight’s ride was 30.56 miles in 2:06:00 averaging 14.5 mph. I hit the 15 mile mark in an hour so must have had a much slower second half. It was warm out. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

Knackered now. Kenn has gone for ice-cream and wine. Not necessarily in that order. My legs ache. My back was hurting on this ride. I’ve been thinking about having a bike fit for a while now. I think that as my back was aching and my shoulder was making it’s presence felt tonight, that I’ll book it on Monday.

1034.59 miles this year so far

30.53 today with 501 feet of climbing.

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Separated from husband but dating a nice chap at the moment. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dog and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Cycling, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

