Nearly 7 months gone in 2014 and how many miles in?

I last blogged on the 4th January. It’s now the wee small hours of 26th July 2014. Slap my wrists, I’m so lazy in the blogging department. I am now going to post a huge update. Feel free to skip to the bottom or just look at the pics.

Firstly the good news. So far this year, I have ridden 1004.06 miles. Not sure how many Kenn has ridden but he’s not been that motivated until the last couple of weeks. That means, to reach my 1500 mile goal (which will get added to I reckon) by 31st December I need to only ride 496 miles. Easy peasy lemon squeezy. I should have ridden 846 by today so I’m well up on the drag curve. I was behind but then we had a new arrival, the patter of tiny tyres arrived in our lives. Or in my life at least.

Planet X 3

Exey enjoying the sunset at Wreningham.

This, to the left, is Exey. My Planet X Pro Carbon Ultegra Road bike. What a beauty he is too. Honestly, these actresses and models can keep their boy-toys. I’ve a bike-toy and I am smitten.

Being a Planet X he was built so that I didn’t have to faff about changing stuff so he’d fit me. I have 42cm bars on there, ones that fit so I don’t need shoulders like Andre Greipel to ride him. I have an 80mm stem (my beautiful Defy has an 80mm stem too nowadays). Exey has a Selle Italia Lady Flow saddle, which was fine but then I shifted a stone and a half of timber and now it’s downright painful. I broke my pelvis a long time ago and I have a lumpy boney bit where it wasn’t the greatest heal in the world. Happily, one of the good people of CycleChat had a Charge Spoon for sale, which is a lot less painful but I miss the central channel. Us girls are never happy are we 🙂 Exey has 105 brakes, which were an upgrade. Now I know that anyone who is au fait with the Velominati will all be cringing as my bar tape and my saddle do not match. I was supposed to have a black saddle but they were out of stock, hence white saddle and PX didn’t change the bar tape. I will change the tape, just not this weekend. I dropped really lucky with him too. He has 10 speed Ultegras just before they went up to 11 and a £200 price hike so I am deeply chuffed.

That bike rocks. He’s 7.75kg, a nice colour and really really quick. I have added a few more toys to my cycling inventory. Firstly a Garmin Edge Touring GPS, which is awesome. I can ask it to put a route in for how ever many miles I fancy and it will take me there. It calculates calories burned, feet climbed, dropped, miles ridden and time taken. If I get lost it will take me back to the start (or the car, or the pub). I’ve yet to find the ‘locate nearest cake’ function but I am sure that there is one. If not there should be so I’ll start looking about for software upgrades.

Yesterday I got another new toy. I got some bone conduction headphones for my iPod (I have an iPod touch nowadays as my little nano iPod decided that it wouldn’t connect to my laptop any more and I wasn’t ready to commit to 62 tracks for the rest of my life). I got Aftershokz Bluez in the end. They are Bluetooth jobbies so talk to my iPod and my phone, even to the extent of taking phonecalls on it. Not that I’ll be doing that, bike time is my time, not phone time. There were two stockists in Norwich, a running shop and a cycling shop. No prizes for guessing where I went. The chap in Velocity couldn’t have been nicer if he’d got out of bed early and practiced. I will definitely be buying more from them. They have some fabby bib shorts with gel chamois pads, they look awesome, sadly they are white. Rule 14 and all that. Also, white shorts in the rain !!! I don’t think so.

Oh yes. New Bibs from PX as well. Really comfy, black with red bits but they are getting a tad big for me now so I’ll either have to put them away until winter when I fatten up again (not really), give them to Kenn or buy new ones.

20140608_122516

Outside the gates of East Carleton Manor, where Colin Chapman used to live.

The rides:
I’ve ridden the Wreningham loop more times than I care to remember. We’ve whizzed around the Bike It route 2, or a version of it anyway and do that fairly regularly. I have found new and interesting ways to get to the dialysis unit to meet Ken. I got that 7.5 mile (that’s the shortest route) ride up to 30 miles the other night. We go off to Wattlefield then Ashwellthorpe and back in a route called “Is it a mouse” as the route looks vaguely mouse shape. No tail though, he must be sitting on it. Mostly I just go off and make it up as I go along. I’m faster without Kenn but then I have my iPod, which helps when going up hill.

Somehow I am managing to ride, work, play guitar a lot, ride some more and have a life. This weather is really helpful and my tan lines are freakin’ awesome. I will endevour to post more ride reports, honest, promise. Maybe even pictures of cake & coffee.

Raff

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Separated from husband but dating a nice chap at the moment. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dog and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

