Bike fit and shakedown ride

What a day today. I had a groom in the morning, a large-ish Cocker Spaniel, a farm dog so she was quite hard work, then I rushed off to walk a Labradoodle and then belted into the City as I had arranged to go to Cycles UK, Norwich so the Manager, Bill, who’s a trained bike fitter, could have a look see as my back has been decidedly sore of late.

I got there and my PX was much admired. One of the staff wondered why I had MTB SPDs on. I said that I liked them but would have a go with my Keo Looks at some point. Bill came along and I got on Exey, who was attached to a Turbo trainer. I am not a fan of Turbos as they feel a bit wierd to me, not a level feeling when pedalling. I feel that there is always a bit of a flat spot. That could just be the TTs that I have tried though.  Anyhoo, seat went up an inch or so within seconds. That felt a lot better. I had always thought that my seat was fine but it appears not. Bill put the saddle level too as it was tipped. I thought that it was fine but an expert eye and all that, is always handy. A suggestion of a shorter stem was made. I’ve researched and found a 70mm & a 60mm suitable. I’ll have another wee chat will Bill when I’m passing and see what he thinks before ordering.

Once the bike was off the Turbo and we were chatting generally, Kenn said “got to go, you’ll be late for your afternoon dog” so we shot off and dashed all the way to Wicklewood and got there 20 minutes early. We knocked on the door but there was no answer. We knocked a couple of times in fact so I texted the client to say that we were outside, in case he was just around the block and on his way. No reply. We waited until just after 3.30pm, lumped on the door a few more times in case they had come in the back way or something, no answer so we packed our stuff and then went home. Just after 4pm the client texted to say that they were in all along but upstairs. Maybe he didn’t get the text I sent at 15:12. No, I can’t go back there this afternoon. No I can’t go back there this evening and I can’t go back tomorrow either. Or the next day or the day after that for that matter. I’m not going back cos they don’t answer the door or answer texts. They played the ‘it’s an emergency my dog is baking hot’ card. I pointed out that poor planning on their part does not constitute an emergency on my part. I’m sorry that their dog isn’t going to get clipped back so it’s cooler but it’s not my fault that their owners are such numpties.

Once home. Keo Look pedals on and a quick ride around the green while I practiced unclipping and clipping. That saddle was way too high with the different cleats on my shoes. My hips were dipping at the bottom of each pedal stroke. 1/8″ down, round again. 1/8″ down, round again. That felt OK so I cleared off for a ride.

My faithful 11 miler to Wreningham, Hethel round and back did the trick. 44 minutes dead. Happily my back didn’t ache but my left hand is still numb. I averaged 15mph despite a couple of slow bits where I waited for cars to overtake and they didn’t . It’s a nice ride around there. The 2 little hills that I get to ride up seemed much easier with the higher seat position but that saddle has to go. I’ve got a Spesh BG Riva on the Defy. I’ll move it to the PX I think. It can’t be worse than the Spoon, definitely can’t be worse than the Selle Italia. That the 2nd Selle Italia that I’ve hated, I don’t think that they suit my bum.

I’ve set my Garmin target for 60 miles this week. I’m not feeling the love and I’ve a busy week ahead so riding might take a back seat a bit this week.

Miles this year: 1045.6

 

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Cycling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

