Home to hospital. Very short ride today

As I have just said, a mere 8.17 miles today from home to the N&N hospital to meet Kenn from dialysis. This daytime dialysis malarkey is great, I’m riding in daylight for a change, enjoying the sunshine.

I was a bit pushed for time this morning as I wanted to crack on with Proud Mary for my guitar homework, otherwise I’d have gone the longer route via Little Melton. As it was there were 3 sets of roadworks on the Norwich Road which slowed me up no end. The first one was easily bypassed by using the cyclepath, much to the annoyance of the pedestrians who all yelled at me to ‘get on the f***ing road’. I bet those same pedestrians, once behind the wheel of a car yell at cyclists to ‘get on the f***ing cycle path’, in fact, I’d put money on it. The next 2 sets of roadworks were not light controlled, you just had to be brave and go for it. Being on a bike and a bit thinner than the average 4 x 4, I could squeeze through without losing all the speed I’d managed to build up. This did not go down well with the idiot in the Audi-doody wankpanzer who couldn’t. He made his displeasure felt but a really close punishment pass and then turned left up a side street after about 20 yards. Wow, what a big man, I wonder what he is compensating for with his mahoosive car and loud horn.

I arrived at the hospital in one piece and ended the ride on the garmin (best bit of kit I have ever bought), then spent a mile and a half looping around the car-park at the hospital to cool down. I got to the layby to meet Kenn at the same time that he did. Bit of a result.

After walking a client’s dog I had to to to CEX in Norwich to return an iPod that won’t work. Apparently it does work as they tested it. I have it here, at home and it doesn’t bloody work. They refused to refund me today. I’ll take the laptop with me tomorrow and they can see that it doesn’t work. They suggested it was my laptop but the mouse works, my garmin works, everything else works that gets plugged into a USB port, except for this iPod. I want my £100 back and they can keep their crappy iPod. What else is social media for but pointing this sort of thing out. It might work on their ‘test bay’ but not in real life. I should have bought new and not trusted to second hand. It seems that the 12 months guarantee given by CEX means diddly squat when money is involved. Bunch of rob-dogs.

Might go for another ride later depending on how I’m feeling. Mind you, I can’t listen to music as the new iPod fails to work. Me, miffed? Not much.

R

 

Miles for 2014 so far: 1053.77 mi at 13.77 mi/h  

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

