Nice 15 mile loop today

I managed to drag myself off the sofa today after a day of laundry, laundry, washing up and more laundry. I have found a hidden stash of dirty clothes – none of which is mine – so it’s all nice and clean now. We had a go at dying the sofa covers too. The pale blue sofa, which is showing its age, is now a nice dark blue even though it was supposed to be a deep purple colour. The red sofa has stayed resolutely red. Heigh ho.

Kenn needed a bit of persuading to go for a ride, he still has stitches in his arm but it’s been a week now so it’s about time he got pedalling again. We decided on the Wattlefield loop, which is about 8.5 miles but as we were heading to Wattlefield I suggested not going to the right but going left and along that pretty road through Fundenhall instead and back via Wreningham to avoid that long horrible drag up the Silfield Road. Neither of us were feeling the love of cycling at that moment but thought ‘why not’ and went for it.

Not sure what happened after Fundenhall but our legs collectively decided to co-operate and we zoomed along that short bit of the B1113 past the Kings Head PH and up the Ashwellthorpe Road, or whatever it’s called at that point and then turned right for Wreningham. We went straight through the middle of the village and out the other side and headed for Hethel instead of heading for home. That Hethel Road was fun! We met a total gridlock of a coach heading back to its home in Wreningham, a lorry and 3 cars. Deciding not to hold up proceedings, we zipped around and left them all to it. We signalled to pull into a passing place further up to let the lorry past but it seemed that he couldn’t wait and went past anyway.

Onwards to Hethel, past Lotus and it’s test track (all quiet today) and along that nice cycle-path that used to be a residential street. I know this as my friend Mark lived there when he was a child. It is now full of cyclists, dog walkers, blackthorn bushes and blackberry bushes. From there we just headed home. We got about 2 miles from home when the weather changed from sunny to cloudy to drizzle to stair-rod rain which was painful to ride through. I am sure that I saw hail for a few seconds. It certainly felt like hail. I know that I won’t melt in the rain but I really don’t like getting wet. My tee shirt was sticking to me and I had soggy feet. My helmet leaks! All those holes that let the hot air out let water in. Who knew 🙂

I’m not convinced that the brakes on my PX are as good as those on the Giant. It’s the first time we’ve been out in the rain and the first time I’ve had this experience. It was ‘interesting’ to say the least. Naturally, the second we got home the sun has come out again so we’ve left the laundry out on the line but we are keeping a weather eye out now.

Oh, the iPod, in case anyone was worried. Turned out it was a duff iPod. A new (to me) iPod was provided and it works.

A cup of tea is needed.

Today 15.02

This Year: 1068.79 mi at 13.77 mi/h  average

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

