Rides 2 and 3. Or, to the pub and back.

I am just back from No. 3 ride of the day. Having posted all about ride No. 1 I shall now proceed to bore you all to tears with rides 2 & 3.

Ride 2 consisted off around the block and feeling a lot of pain in my bits so back home after nearly 200 yards and taking the Charge Spoon off the bike and denuding the Giant Defy of his Spesh Riva BG saddle and dropping the seat 1/8″ as the Riva is taller, if you are with me. Off we went again, past our new Morrisons and noted that the car park is rammed! Absolutely chokka. I know that we’ve had a Waitrose (V expensive) and a Co-op (nearly as pricey whatever the ads on TV say) for years but the lure of a proper, cheaper supermarket obviously has the good people of Wymondham overcome with shoppingness. Either that or they’ve been eaking out their food until it opens. It opened at 8am today BTW.

We rode down the Melton Road to Little Melton and the Village Inn to have a try of their carvery lunch. I say lunch, there is a carvery from about 11am to 9pm and it’s not expensive. 2 huge cokes and a carvery apiece and change from £13 so we were happy. That stuffing looked like bricks in brickdust to me so I gave it a swerve. The roast potato was definitely fried but the mash was nice. I had turkey and hubster had gammon. Both very nice. Hubster tried the leeks, I didn’t like the look of them but had extra cranberry sauce to make up for it.
At some point in the proceedings, my Garmin made the executive decision to save the ride there so when we got back on our bikes I had to turn it on, find satellites etc again thus missing out on 100 yards of ride. Hence ride No. 3. We decided not to retrace our wheel tracks but to go down the road 100 yards, hook a right and follow the road to Hethersett which is vaguely in the direction of home. This brought us out on the Colney Road, which was a bit grim.

Colney Road itself is not too bad. From Hethersett to Colney it’s really fast and downhill, which rather means from Little Melton back to Hethersett it is somewhat of the up persuasion. So we got on with the job in hand and tried to ignore the coke sloshing about in our tummies. Most of the cars gave us a ton of room but then there was a Council Highways Department lorry who nearly had my elbow off. Hubster says he gave me about a foot of space. That put the wind up me a bit and we thought “bugger this he might have friends on this road who might do a better job” and took the first right we came to and into unknown territory. We cycled along heading vaguely in the right direction and eventually found ourselves in a village, probably Melton and then saw a sign for Wymondham and thought ‘that’ll do’ and pedaled off towards home.
Eventually we came out on the Norwich Road and tried to turn right to Wymondham. We sat there for about a week until there was a space. The car behind us was not overly chuffed but he’d not have been able to get out of that junction any faster himself. He was probably fed up sat in his tin can on wheels sweating his backside off. Finally we were on our way again and we just headed straight in to Wymondham, on the Norwich Road, dived down a cycleway we’ve not been on before (it needs resurfacing and I need a new filling). It brought us out on Harts Farm Road which took an age to cross but then we were straight home through the housing estate, tractor dodging at Ayton Road, down the hill, under the bridge, back up the other side and then around the green a couple of times before turning off the Garmin at 8.02 miles home.

16.14 miles in 1 hour 15 minutes dead. I’ve burned the best part of 2000 calories riding today. I may indulge in some cake later. Certainly some wine.

Total this year: 1104.96 mi at 13.78 mi/h  

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

