Wattlefield 15 and a bit

Kenn is on dialysis today. As we are on our hols, at home, I had a nice lay in and then took the dogs for a peramble up the footpath and back. Millie-dog had her slow paws on today so we dawdled for half an hour in the lovely morning warmth.

Once back, I looked at the time with that ‘oh heck I’d better get a shift on’ look on my face and scrapped around for the new iPod, which was hiding under a DVD cover. A DVD that’s in the machine but one we’ve not got around to watching as there was a Midsomer Murders on that we actually hadn’t seen before. They are quite rare for us, an unseen Midsomer. Why don’t those people ever learn not to go in the woods or not to join some special interest club. You’d think that with the local body count ever rising that someone would notice a pattern.

Anyway, new iPod synched with Aftershockz and off I went. I’m still not totally convinced about that Charge Spoon saddle but I didn’t have the time to change it for the Spesh Riva BG. I’ll try it later though. I decided that I would ride the Wattlefield 15 and then head to the hospital. This proved to be an excellent plan. I rode through the quiet roads to Wattlefield, watching the combine harvesters er, harvesting. There were tractors galore out there today, all of which were very courteous and didn’t try to run me off the road. There were also hundreds of bunnies hurtling out of the cornfields and into the road. My slalom technique is coming along nicely now because of them. I wonder if they do an over 50’s road bike slalom competition as I reckon that I’d be a shoo in. I nearly ran over a stoat, could have been a weasel I was just trying not to hit it as it dashed for the cover of a blackthorn hedge.

Eventually I rode into Wreningham and got disapproving looks of a couple doing their garden. These people, I have no idea who they are, often glare at me as I ride through their village. Maybe they are myopic and trying for a better look at the bit of glorious carbon that I ride or they just don’t like cyclists and think that we shouldn’t be allowed. Probably the latter, they look that sort. Through Wreningham, up the slope and then turning for Hethel and along the cyclepath. The blackberries are well on so I might wander that way in the car later. The sloes are well along too. Another few weeks and I’ll grab some and freeze them as I don’t imagine that we’ll be having a hard frost any time soon.

At the end of the cyclepath I needed to make a decision. Turn right and head down to East Carleton and to Eaton and then to the hospital, or to turn left and head further round the ‘wattlefield 15’ and turn off at Spinks Lane to cut across to the Norwich road. I chose the latter. Vastly bad move! I got to Spinks Lane and the railway crossing light was red so I sat and waited and waited and waited. Eventually the longest freight in the world train came along. There was a chap and his two sons waiting for it too. The eldest lad was filming it on his tablet and was really excited about it, bless him. They are off to another railway crossing to film another train. Dad promised them a day of train filming.

I carried on down Spinks Lane and then spent forever waiting to turn right on to the Norwich Road. I’d not thought that bit through when I made my ‘turn left’ decision. DOH! Once on the Norwich Road I had a lovely spin down the road, through Hethersett and up on the cyclepath at the top of Colney Lane. Round the double roundabouts with the lights in my favour, which is a first. Then left onto Roundwell Road and followed it to the hospital.

Kenn was waiting at the layby but I went past him and then turned back. I’d looked at the Garmin and as I got to Kenn it was reading 19.97 miles. Well, it’s just rude to stop there so I rode to the carpark and turned round in the opening and back to the car and then I overshot and did 0.3 more than I had to.  We are planning another ride in a bit as we are off for lunch at Little Melton Village Inn. Carvery for a fiver a piece. Our holiday treat today.

Today’s ride: 20.03

So far this year: 1088.82 mi at 13.80 mi/h  average. That’s 200 miles up on the drag curve too.

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

