First ride for 9 days

I’ve been having fun and games with depression just lately and, although I know that cycling really helps, I haven’t been able to motivate myself. The weather hasn’t helped, I don’t like riding in the drizzle, the stair-rod type rain, the high winds and horizontal rain or any sort of rain for that matter. The wind has been pretty interesting too. All in all, I’ve not been feeling the love.

Today I was going to ride with Kenn but as he settled down with some awful american TV show that I’ve never heard of, it was obvious that he wasn’t planning on a ride so I changed, grabbed my Aftershockz and iPod and got out on my bike. It was gone 7pm when I went out and I knew that I had to be back in pretty sharpish as I have put my big lights somewhere safe and can’t locate them at this very moment.

I decided on the Wreningham cyclepath route, it’s 11 miles and quite enough for a short ride when I haven’t been out for a bit. Interestingly I rode most of it in big ring, only dropping down to the little clanger for turning right at junctions. I averaged 14.7mph all the way around but it felt faster so I was quite surprised when it took 45 mins to get home. The last half a mile was looping around a bit to make up the distance. 10.7 miles is just rude.

I might even make the effort to go out tomorrow but I’m not making any promises here.

R

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

