First ride for 9 days

I’ve been having fun and games with depression just lately and, although I know that cycling really helps, I haven’t been able to motivate myself. The weather hasn’t helped, I don’t like riding in the drizzle, the stair-rod type rain, the high winds and horizontal rain or any sort of rain for that matter. The wind has been pretty interesting too. All in all, I’ve not been feeling the love.

Today I was going to ride with Kenn but as he settled down with some awful american TV show that I’ve never heard of, it was obvious that he wasn’t planning on a ride so I changed, grabbed my Aftershockz and iPod and got out on my bike. It was gone 7pm when I went out and I knew that I had to be back in pretty sharpish as I have put my big lights somewhere safe and can’t locate them at this very moment.

I decided on the Wreningham cyclepath route, it’s 11 miles and quite enough for a short ride when I haven’t been out for a bit. Interestingly I rode most of it in big ring, only dropping down to the little clanger for turning right at junctions. I averaged 14.7mph all the way around but it felt faster so I was quite surprised when it took 45 mins to get home. The last half a mile was looping around a bit to make up the distance. 10.7 miles is just rude.

I might even make the effort to go out tomorrow but I’m not making any promises here.

R

Advertisements

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s