Rode from home to hospital

I have a route that I use most of the time from home to the N&N hospital. Just lately though, I’ve been taking a slightly different route as Wymondham now has a Morrisons and it seems that people turning in to the supermarket cannot wait a couple of seconds for a bike to pass by. They feel that they have to dodge in front of it and, since Morries opened on the 4th August, there have been a few cyclists who have been hit by people desperate for a pint of milk and a loaf of bread. In light of this, I’ve taken to hooking up Ayton Road and through the Hart’s Farm estate and onto the cyclepath further up the road avoiding the shoppers. This does take a couple of hundred yards off my route but adds a bit of climing.

Today was a nice calm ride down to the hospital. My legs went round and I listened to music as I went. I saw a nice chap out on his Dawes and we crossed the double roundabout together. I got straight on to Roundwell Road and had a good ride down to the hospital layby only to find that Kenn was not there. I looked at my phone to find a text saying that he was on his way home. This was after my text to him saying that I was on my way.

I rang him a couple of times and he finally picked up (OK I rang 5 times in quick succession) and he was only at the shell garage so he popped back for me. I was then about to head back to Wymondham but was a bit concerned about the weather on account of a large black cloud in the sky and the fact that I could see where it was raining just a mile or so away. Kenn arrived just before the rain.

Once home I put the bike in the bath and gave him a good clean. We’d ridden through some puddles and mud on the way and he was looking a bit Mountainbikey.

7.74 miles today in 33:14 so averaging 14mph which is unbelievably slow for that journey. Ho hum. Like I’ve said, not feeling the love.

Total this year so far: 1134.2 – Oh, mycyclinglog is still down!

R

Advertisements

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Cycling. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s