Home to hospital and back again

Having scrapped about like a loony to find my iPod (in the fruit bowl, naturally) I was a bit late leaving but got a good ride down. Met up with Kenn at the door having waited a couple of minutes for him. He came out just as it started raining. Gloom. I’m not sure where the summer has gone. Someone has stolen it and replaced it with cooler temperatures – too cool for a tee shirt but not cool enough for a jumper so I was cool then hot then cool again all the way there.

The ride back was a lot slower as Kenn was having a bad day. We rode a bit, stopped a bit, rode a bit more. I carried his very heavy laptop bag which had his laptop in and a few bricks I think. Whatever else was in there weighed a ton but I don’t really like to ask him. All the stopping and starting really upped the chances of clipless moments, I had a couple of near misses when he just stopped for no apparent reason. Over the last mile, I put my sweat-top back on as I was starting to shiver. Stop-start doesn’t agree with me, it seems.

In the end, it was 17.53 miles in 1:23:28 which is impossibly slow. 12.6mph is MTB territory for us. As I said, Kenn having a bad bad day which was a shame as my legs felt good. Tomorrow, as they say, is another day and I only need 13 miles to hit my very low target this week.

Total this year so far: 1151.73 and guess what? Still no mycyclinglog. I think that it’s gone which is a shame.

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

