Home to hospital and back again. Clinic day. Yuk!

Today I had a clinic appointment. Every year I have my MOT as I am a living kidney donor so the NHS keep a close eye on the remaining kidney. Quite right too. I thought that I’d been forgotten about but I got my test last year and this year but I had a 2 year gap before getting back to Norwich where the N&N were mortified that the appointments had lapsed and got me in with their renal consultant ASAP.

The ride down was nice. Bloody cold but nice. My hands were cold and I really wished that I had my Planet X zippy top on rather than my long sleeve jersey and a tee shirt. We took 34 minutes to do the 8.27 miles down to the hospital. We chatted as we went and generally had a nice ride. Once there we locked the bikes and I had 45 minutes being pricked with needles for a blood test and having my blood pressure taken. Nice and low, just how we like it. Everything is hunky dory as far as they can tell so it was a case of having a nice natter about life in general and a ‘see you next year’.

The ride home was harder work. Still cold and I didn’t warm up all the way home. Which was 9.13 miles as we came a slightly different way. I was shivering like a (fat) whippet when I got in. PX top straight on and a nice cup of tea. The ride home took a whopping 48 minutes 😮

Still not quite feeling the love of riding but I’m sure that it will come back again. Proper work again tomorrow. Thursday and Friday too. Gloom. My wrist is killing me. I have to stop grooming before I can’t play guitar any more. Guitar playing being a lot more important than working IMO. I have priorities.

R

Miles this year: 1169.20 mi at 13.76 mi/h  average

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

