A week’s worth of rides

Pitifully few rides in fact.

Weds 10th September I rode from home to the hospital via Little Melton. It’s a nice route to the hospital as it’s just shy of 10.5 miles and much prettier than straight down the Norwich Road, taking chances that trucks are going to hang back at the pinch points and not just mow you down. Actually the trucks and buses are fine, it’s the bloody minded w*****rs in their status cars that are the problem. Audi-doody drivers are the worst along there.

Anyway, I digress. Along the Melton Road was brilliant until I bore right towards Little Melton itself and discovered that they were re-surfacing it with that horrendous grit stuff that the council likes to save money with. I went along nice and slowly until I got to where the workmen were on their elevensies. I got past their parked truck quite easily, even though one of them offered to move it if I was having difficulty. Nice chaps. A couple of them were cyclists and were jarred off about the surfacing as they didn’t fancy chipping their paintwork either. I knew just how they felt.

Onwards. Up the hill and out on to the B1108, over the double roundabouts and down that brilliant hill towards Colney. 32mph, there or thereabouts as I got level with The Global Clinic. A private place for well-to-do idiot drivers it seems. I was well ahead of one of their client’s, who was leaving the place. At the last moment he sped up and drove at me. Charming chap in a poo brown Volvo. I headed for the middle of the road, smacked his side window with my left hand,  yelling at the driver, something along the lines of “oh I say my good chap, did you not see a bright blue bike ridden by a woman in a da-glo council orange jacket? Maybe a trip to the opticians might be in order”. Or words to that effect anyway. He backed off and then overtook me saying something about the marital status of my parents. A right charmer. He called me some nice names at the lights when I caught him up too. I was seriously jarred off as I had right of way and hadn’t just popped out of the rift!

By the time I got to the hospital I was shaking like a leaf. Kenn found me some M&Ms but not before turning off my Garmin. Priorities intact in Kenn’s case. Bless him. My left hand was very sore. 2 days off guitar practice because of that idiot. Note to self; do not punch cars with my fretting hand. I’d still average 15mph even though I had gone along the Melton Road at 10mph to avoid stacking the bike on the loose chippings.

Next ride was 2 days later on Friday 12th Sept. I went the direct route down the Norwich Road and had a very near miss with a silly mare who buzzed me at the pinch point. Idiot drivers are like buses. You don’t see one for ages and then 3 come along at once. Silly mare was idiot #2. I was worried about the weekend and meeting number 3.

As it turned out, I didn’t ride over the weekend as my back has been a bit interesting. I also had a ton of homework from Leigh, my guitar teacher. An absolute ton. “Live the guitar” he said. “Be the guitar, sleep the guitar, breathe the guitar” Bloody Hell Leigh! Some of us have jobs you know 😀 Actually playing takes my mind off my back.

Today. Home to the hospital again. The Little Melton Route, risking the loose top surface on the Melton Road. The roadmen have finished it now and there is miles of it. Gloom. I crept over it at about 12mph, down to 10 on the corners as it’s a bit slippy out there. Once at the hospital I looped the hospital grounds for 3 miles as I waited for Kenn to emerge from dialysis. 13.5 miles today.

Then this evening, Kenn decided that he wanted to chuck a leg over his bike, for the first time in ages. We just did a short 5.65 mile loop around Park Lane, out to Silfield and back again. It took a wildly long 27 minutes but he said his legs had forgotten how to pedal. Bless.

I’ve got about 13 miles to hit my next target. I also have until Wednesday to do it. My back doesn’t’ hurt when I’m riding. It’s a much better position for my back to be in than standing, sitting, walking or driving. Doc’s in the morning with it. It’s just sciatica but this flare up is driving me to distraction.

R

1238.94 mi at 13.79 mi/h average so far this year.

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Married, to someone who is a bit indifferent towards me. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until March 2016 to get to Cornwall. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. I am going to move again though. I can't handle the hills. My knees are 10 years too old for around here. Not ruling out Cornwall in the future but, for now, my riding is suffering. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

