Brilliant muddy ride today

Just back in from a really good ride. I have to be at work in an hour and a bit so I was pleased to get a ride in. Running 2 business’ is trying on the old riding time, and practicing time.

The weather was OK today and I did manage a good 5 hours sleep last night so feeling pretty enthusiastic about riding. Actually I was really keen to get out on my bike today, which is something that hasn’t happened for a while so doubly happy about that.

I rode up our road and then headed for Bowthorpe and the cyclepaths and from there turned for Bawburgh along muddy and leafy country roads. I don’t think that the Defy was best chuffed to be out in the mud but I was. I got down to Bawburgh village proper and then turned left up Stocks Hill. It’s a nice hill and goes up in 3 stages. The first bit is the hardest, the middle bit a doddle and the last bit an equal doddle but a tad longer. There is a segment up there called the Bawburgh Buster and I averaged 10mph up it so I was thrilled. It gains about 83 feet over a km. It doesn’t sound much but I’m a Norfolk girl and hills are not my thing really.

From there I doglegged along the B1108 to the Melton Road and rode past the Village Inn, Little Melton (a very good carvery pub if you are in the area) and kept going to the war memorial where I turned left and then left again a bit later to Hethersett. I ignored the road closed signs as I reckon that you can always get a bike through as roads are rarely closed to pedestrians. Very glad I did as the road wasn’t closed at all but there were 3 way roadwork lights at the end. I just got off my bike and walked around then on the pavement and then carried on riding.

After the roadworks, I found myself on the Wymondham to Norwich road so I rode down it, up the hill and then got on the cyclepath at the the top of Colney Lane and then rode to the hospital using the route that I used to ride when I lived in Wymondham. At the layby, where I meet Hubster, my Garmin said 11.78 miles. Rude to stop I thought so I rode up the road and then turned round and came back again.

12.14 miles, averaging 12.9mph and I was out for 56:38 riding time. Not too shoddy with all that mud on the road. We had a couple of scary slides on the mud – or cow poo:eek: but didn’t fall off so it was a good ride. The Defy is in the shower room having been washed off with the shower. Hubster is just about to go in with a greasy rag to sort the chain etc for me, while I type. I am feeling the cycling love again now. Only 83 miles to target this year and I have quite a good feeling about it at the moment. Naturally this might change when it rains/snows/blizzards/tornado etc

R

1417.13 mi at 13.30 mi/h
94% done. So pleased

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Separated from husband but dating a nice chap at the moment. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dog and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

