Last ride of 2014

Just back in from a great ride, the last one of the year and we were determined to get out today. I wish that I’d taken a camera but I didn’t so I couldn’t take piccies of the low flying bi-plane which was out for a play today. It then turned and flew past the, frankly enormous, moon. It would have made a fab shot but no camera and my phone is useless for that sort of thing. I didn’t take pictures of low sun illuminating the frozen marshes either. I did take a pic of a chap out for a ride with his daughers. All the girls had Christmas bikes. I took the pic on his camera after stopping and offering. Nice chap with polite daughters.

Today Hubster and I rode along the Marriotts Way. There was ice aplenty on the roads, which is why we thought we’d go down the cycle track. At least if we slipped badly enough to fall off, we only had to deal with bushes, trees, dog walkers etc and not cars, vans and artics. We took it quite gingerly down the Marlpit Lane and even more gingerly along the first, tarmacked bit of the Marriotts as it was a bit black icy. Once on to the track, we rode through ice puddles, nearly unseated by really grabby mud but carried on regardless averaging just over 9mph. It was a nice day, lots of joggers, dog walkers, kids on bikes. The BBC said it was 4 degrees. Our car said that it was -31 when we had to fetch something out of it this morning. I think that the external thermostat has broken. I hope that it has anyway.

We rode to Taverham and then along the road to the Garden Centre, where we locked the bikes up and had a coffee at the cafe located within. The coffee was OK. Nothing to write home about. The chocolate cake was ok-ish. Again, nothing to get excited about. A bit uninspiring actually. The bill was a tenner. Seriously people, don’t bother with it. There are a couple of other cafes in the complex of shops around the garden centre but they were closed. Never again, shall we go to that. Bit of a rip off to be honest.

We rode home happily enough. It was along the road, just before we turned back on to the Marriotts, that we saw the bi-plane. Very grey it was too. I wonder if it was the Red Baron :rolleyes:. We made slightly better time home, riding time wise. We stopped for a chat with the chap with his daughters, for a couple of minutes. He was asking us how we coped in the mud with such skinny tyres. I said that my tyres were 35mm, Hubster’s were 28mm and that they were cyclocross bikes and designed for this sort of stuff and much worse. He’d never heard of CX bikes. We pointed to the slightly higher BB, the different cable routing etc.

As the sun was dropping and it was getting cooler, we headed off and rode home via New Costessey. We added a wee bit on the end as I needed to make the whole ride add up to 13 miles and we were heading for 12.5 miles. We did get the ride to add up to 13 miles which gives me 1525.1 miles for the year this year. It’s probably a bit more than that in reality (I could work it out by counting garmin miles and proper ride miles) as I loop around the hospital grounds for anything between 2 and 5 miles when I am early to meet him and don’t want to stay still.

2000 is my target for next year. With additional commuting in the forthcoming year, I am hopeful of that and a bit more. I may extend the target. Who knows.:cold::cuppa:^_^

Happy New Year everyone. See you tomorrow.

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

