2015 Off we go again

I’ve set myself a target of 2000 miles this year. I feel that this is more than doable as I’m living closer to the city, it’s only 3 miles each way so makes much more sense to ride in than drive in and then pay to park. I can commute to my dog walking jobs and to my job at Norwich Guitar Academy too.

1st 3 rides of the year below. I’ve been a lazy blogger and have been nowhere near my guitar blog for a month either.

New Years day ride was good. Kenn came out for a ride.
1st ride of the year and just a shortie as it was trying to rain, a bit windy and cold. A bit of a miserable day, weather wise really.

I’d worked out a short route with the potential to extend or shorten for today. Hubster not feeling the love at all but agreed to go. The New Year’s Day ride has become a tradition now, even if it’s a shortie.
[​IMG]

It’s just over 7 miles around and I can play about with it to my hearts content on days when I don’t want a long ride but I do want a ride. You know the days. The depressed days, the really windy days and the days when I need to ride to keep my fitness up but really cannot be bothered to.

I rode off down Earlham Lane, to the Earlham 5 ways roundabout (it’s a roundabout with 5 offs on it) then down past the UEA on the B1108 and then turned up Colney Lane past the hospital. We kept going up Colney Lane to Cringleford and then down through Eaton, along Bluebell and home via the cyclepaths from the 5 ways roundabout. I did a bit of a wiggle round the local estate to add half a mile and make a decent route up.

It was an impossibly slow 39:53 for those 7.21 miles but we got around and I only had to wait for hubster 5 or 6 times. I find it very frustrating to be averaging just a smidge over 10mph and having to wait. He’s fitter than that, he really is. I think that he just likes to pee me off. Weather permitting, I’ll get a nicer ride in tomorrow without all the stopping and waiting every 5 or 6 minutes.

Friday 2nd Jan:
I had a quick tootle around the estate for a change and then out to Bluebell and actually rode down the road rather than the cyclepath. It was quiet and I just couldn’t face the surface of the cyclepath. I’m sure it loosens fillings. I turned right and rode through Eaton/Cringleford to the A11 (then I used the cyclepath as I’m not suicidal) and crossed at the junction.

From there I followed more cycle path, under the A47 and then off to Hethersett via the Norwich Road, again on the cycle path. The headwind was a bit interesting. I was working hard to maintain 9mph and fighting the urge to turn around and go home. Also, I’d forgotten breakfast, which wasn’t helping much. Once at Hethersett I turned right and right again and followed the road, past the schools and Tesco to the Melton Road. Another right turn and I was heading home. Interestingly, still into the wind. It must be Scottish wind out there today. You know, the wind that comes at you from every conceivable angle.

The spin down the road after the right hander at the war memorial was great. The uphill out of Little Melton to the B1108 not so great but I got up, with minimal swearing and turned right at the top, over the double roundabouts and headed down the hill to Colney and the hospital. Pedalling hard to maintain 23mph downhill into more wind, was a bit of a pain. I was hoping for a faster Max speed than 24.6mph over the ride but it was not to be.

I got half way over the lights at the right turn to the hospital, which is an interesting turning as people will jump a red from the other side if it’s only a bike turning, when I saw an ambulance bluing it’s way towards the hospital. I stopped and let him over the lights and the turning as I didn’t want to be in his way. Naturally then nobody would let me finish the turn as people followed the ambo through. He was on an emergency, I can’t see what everyone elses reason for RLJing was.

I eventually made it up the last hill to the hospital where I was very relieved to see Hubster waiting for me. I was a good 10 minutes late in today, due to my slowness in the wind. 11.61 miles in 57 minutes so averaged 12.2mph according to Garmin.

651 calories burned so extra porridge for me :hungry:. Interestingly the scales said that I have put on 10lbs in 8 days. I think that my scales might be on the blink. I log my food – all of it – and there is no way that I have overeaten by 35,000 calories in the last 8 days. I’m not convinced that I have 35,000 calories in the house at any one time. Maybe I should have put my scales back 10lbs for Xmas. Like you do the clocks an hour in Autumn. Better get those lbs shifted at any rate. I wonder if my jeans still fit :ohmy:

Tuesday 5th Jan
I really wanted to ride yesterday but as I fell over on black ice walking the dogs, I didn’t fancy the roads. I’m glad that I didn’t as I was told tonight that my God-daughter slid gracefully across a normally busy (but thankfully deserted at the time) traffic light crossing due to the ice.

I took a route to my friend Debbie’s house that didn’t involve going up Grapes Hill, as I would have had to do if I’d gone via the Marriotts Way. I rode the pretty route along the cyclepaths, along Bluebell Road and then turned for the A11 Newmarket Road and followed the cycle paths all the way to the city inner ring road and had half an hour with my pal Debbie. We did a bit of re-gifting between us. She hates pate and nairn oatcakes, I’m not keen on citrus perfume and lavender soap, so we swapped. I had a quick coffee and then pointed out the pretty carbon patterning on Eric the bike and headed home again. She pointed out that even second hand, Eric was more money than she paid for her car.^_^

I rode down through the city, past the new Evan’s cycle shop and then on to Gentleman’s Walk, which is pedestrianised but I think that you can cycle on it. It was pretty much deserted at just after 7pm anyway so that was OK. Then down onto the cyclepath at the bottom of Duke Street and home via Marriott’s Way and the slightly longer way to avoid Marlpit Lane. It puts another 3/4 of a mile on anyway so that’s fine by me. I still do the same climb but its longer and less steep. Some days I just don’t want to slog up Marlpit, Strava segment or no strava segment.

One home I discovered that the garmin had recorded the time out but not all the distance and I know that it’s more than 4.2 miles. I looked back on my activities and found when I’d ridden it before and took the infomation from there but used my riding time.
9.3 Miles in 50.22 minutes so averaged 11.1mph and happy with that. It was a really really good ride. I wish that I’d got out in the day time but there was w*** to do, and husbands to feed, dogs to walk etc.
I’ve now done 1% of my target. Only 99% to do now :thumbsup: I wonder how much of my target percentage I will do on Eric the CX bike. Obviously, I’ll ride the roadie in the nicer weather but I am having a lot of fun on the PX CX.

28.12 mi at 11.46 mi/h so I’m up on the drag curve. This is unlikely to continue in the winter but I’ll catch up in the nice weather.

R

About RosieRosie

RosieRosie is a woman of a 'certain age' - whatever the hell that is supposed to mean, known. I feel about 26. I have no idea what I look like as some older woman keeps getting in the way when I look in the mirror. Technically separated now and I'm just waiting for him to move out into his own place. I have a proper wanderlust and have finally moved - using the housing exchange system from - where I started in Inverness, down to Cornwall and back up to the Flatlands and Big Sky Country. It's taken since September 2011, when I left Inverness until May 2017 to get to somewhere that I really like. That's not too shoddy with a swap here and a swap there, saving up again for each move. Not ruling out going home to Norfolk if necessary. Time will tell. For now my mates are just a 90 minute or so, drive down the road. I love my bikes, I love my dogs and I love guitars. They all keep my busy.
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2015 Off we go again

  1. bribikes says:

    Go get that goal! You can do it!

Leave a Reply

